New Member
Joined
May 22, 2003
Messages
67
Best answers
0
is it possible to put a song in a ESF map i don't mean the mp3 player but a song as a soundtrack for a map.Is that possible???o_O
 
Pwns Mastasurf at TF2
🌠 Staff
Retired Forum Staff
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 7, 2001
Messages
5,115
Best answers
0
I'm pretty sure it is. However, I'd really reccomend against doing it. A lot of ppl use the mp3 player and his would interupt it making it sound bad. People just simply might not play the map because of it.

-Karrde-
 
ESF Head Team Mapper
👑 Administrator
🌠 Staff
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
Joined
Dec 25, 2001
Messages
3,616
Best answers
0
make a low quali wav of the mp3 and put it in the map via a ambient_generic
but it sucks in a esf map becouse of the mp3 player, like karrde said.
 
New Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2003
Messages
171
Best answers
0
Well one of my clan maps has the option that when u press a button the music strats and when u press it again it stops...that way u can have a choice between hearing the music or not
 
New Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2003
Messages
171
Best answers
0
Yeah...nc_mario is what I was talking about...when u turn the switch of the flag 3 times the music will start...and if u turn it again it will stop...ask taz if u want to know how to do it....
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
2,278
Best answers
0
Convert An Mp3 To A Wav with a quality of 22,050 Hz - 8 bit - Mono then in the map create an ambient_generic entity and point it to the .wav file which you should put in ESF/Sounds/MapNameGoesHere.
 
ESF Head Team Mapper
👑 Administrator
🌠 Staff
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
Joined
Dec 25, 2001
Messages
3,616
Best answers
0
so ... what did i just said eh? ^_^
and also, its no problem to trigger the sound (ambient_generic) on or off ... for a play/stop button ;)
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
2,278
Best answers
0
Yeah, but you didn't mention the exact quality it needed to be.
 
New Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2002
Messages
344
Best answers
0
If you want the sound/song to repeat over and over again, you will have to set points in the .wav-file!
A year before, I wanted to add a repeating selfmade sound in a cs map too,
but everytime I came near the area where the sound should be played, HL crashed!
I asked for help in a forum and I was told to set points with goldwave!
These points show HL at what time the .wav should repeat.
I think, youve gotta add one point at the end of the wav, and another one at the beginning...but Im not sure!!!
You can download Goldwave for free, just use google to find it!
 
New Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2003
Messages
307
Best answers
0
its good in beta 1.1 they have the play list and keeps repeating that s awsome!!!
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top