Max ownz Maya

Force Pit Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2002
Messages
767
Best answers
0
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 10, 2002
Messages
1,440
Best answers
0
Wow, did not see that coming at all. :O I wonder how this is all going to work out with the two programs.
 
New Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
502
Best answers
0
combining max with maya could be great! im not framiliar with maya but still!
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Aug 21, 2004
Messages
1,738
Best answers
0
yay even more options to fool around with, thx for sharing this
 
New Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2004
Messages
396
Best answers
0
That's incredible! I don't know how they'll work out each others product lines but I'm sure it'll still remain the same. Max has always been good for games and maya always good for movie quality so keeping them seperate still would be a good part for sales and business. Putting them together and combining the tools however would be a big benefit to both sides.

Nice taking out a huge competitor! :]
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jun 14, 2003
Messages
1,397
Best answers
0
Since autodesk also makes Gmax, I wonder if there will be a free version of maya, I've been itching to try maya for some time now.
 
Force Pit Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2002
Messages
767
Best answers
0
Maya has had a free version for a VERY long time. It's just a learning edition and has a watermark over every viewport.
 
Busy Busy Busy
★ Black Lounger ★
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Messages
1,439
Best answers
0
You have no idea how happy this makes me. I actually danced the dance of joy to this. I took 1 1/2 years of 3dsm classes and am fairly comfortable using it. Now at my new university I am being forced to use Maya because it's "The industry standard". I hope they merge the two or at least use the modeling tools from 3dsm. OMG. *wood*
 
Active Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 18, 2002
Messages
4,201
Best answers
0
yes and Lightwave is still a run up :rolleyes: ;P

i dun care about this. since 3dsm is long at starting up.... so if this wont change it still will suck as before... can youu believe it? 15 mins to start up max?
 
New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2003
Messages
853
Best answers
0
15 minutes? 5 minutes max, and it only takes so long because its loading all its hard-core features ;)

I wonder what this will bring for the future of modelers using max, (myself included)
 
Active Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 18, 2002
Messages
4,201
Best answers
0
i gues easier animating tools and mightfully some new modeling tools.

at all Lwo is just loading less then 5 sec. for me and they´re smart <_< cuz they splited the rendering and modeling parts in 2 programs so it doesnt load **** ass hell so long.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jun 20, 2005
Messages
1,390
Best answers
0
well..3dsm is 30-60 seconds here.. o_O.. But back on topic YES! i've heard so much abuot maya's rendering.. now i can see myself !
 
New Member
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 14, 2003
Messages
3,974
Best answers
0
uhhhh dude, 25 seconds starting max, and thats if im running other things in the background too....


im really psyched about this move, however... im looking forward more, to Max 8's Pelt Mapping feature :cool:
 
New Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2004
Messages
396
Best answers
0
30 seconds here.
Hopefully from here on out we only see major jumps since now the creators of Max now have a lot of tools at their disposal and basically control the 3d graphics industries future standards of creation.
 
Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Sep 13, 2003
Messages
1,179
Best answers
0
Around 15-30 seconds here.

I hope that the interface of '3ds maya' (one can dream, right?), won't change from Max's. I just got used to many functions of Max 6, but I am completely confused by Maya's.

Of course, you could still just use previous versions, but who would do that when you have more power at your hands?
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jun 8, 2004
Messages
5,216
Best answers
0
Does this mean they're going to combine the two programs or keep them seperate? I mean Nestlé own all cereals but you don't see 'Chocolate coated all-bran sugar wheat frosty shreddi-bix'.
 
New Member
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 14, 2003
Messages
3,974
Best answers
0
i like the sound of that cerial =S

to be honest im not sure whats happening, although Darren (Daz from polycount), said that the new software demonstration he saw made him weak at the knees hehe. he refused to say anything else though.... bastard >_>
 
Busy Busy Busy
★ Black Lounger ★
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Messages
1,439
Best answers
0
Has anyone here actually tried modeling in Maya? If you model in both i'm curious as to which you prefer, or how you made the transition.

I hope soo very much that the bring over 3dsm's stack, modifiers, and poly tools. *crosses fingers*
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top