What type of computer do you have?

Computer type?

  • Built Your Own

    Votes: 172 70.5%
  • Alienware

    Votes: 5 2.0%
  • Voodoo

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Dell

    Votes: 29 11.9%
  • Gateway

    Votes: 6 2.5%
  • Other OEM Prebuilt Computer

    Votes: 32 13.1%

  • Total voters
    244
Force Pit Member
Joined
May 14, 2003
Messages
904
Best answers
0
Title says it all. Please post your specs, too.

Built my own

AMD Athlon 64 2800+ @ 2205 MHz 245HTT x 9 Multiplier
ASUS 'K8N' nForce 3 Motherboard
1024MB DDR-SDRAM PC3200 2.5-3-3-6
80 Gigabyte 7200RPM HDD 8MB Cache
40 Gigabyte 5400RPM HDD 2MB Cache (Backup)
BFG GeForce 6800 OC 16/6 350/850
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Feb 23, 2002
Messages
1,148
Best answers
0
Built My Own

CPU: AMD Duron @ 1.27ghz
Mobo: Asus A7M266
Ram: 640MB DDR-SDRAM PC3200 2.5-2-2-5 (not running at pc3200 speeds though due to mobo's low FSB)
Vid Card: Geforce 4 MX440
HD: 80 Gig 7200 RPM 2MB Cache

Ya I know, it really blows. My brother built it a long time ago when this stuff was actually still good. I've updated it a bit now, but it still kinda sucks (and by kinda, I mean a lot)
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Apr 7, 2003
Messages
1,478
Best answers
0
Can you make this poll multi-optioned? I ordered an Alienware (mostly for the case and the dual processors they were offering) and then ripped out half the stuff and replaced it with my own.

Dual 3GHz p4, 9800XT 256mb, 2GB of XMS2, 180(120+60)+250GB HD, 23" viewable flatscreen CRT
 
Force Pit Member
Joined
May 14, 2003
Messages
904
Best answers
0
SailorAlea said:
Can you make this poll multi-optioned? I ordered an Alienware (mostly for the case and the dual processors they were offering) and then ripped out half the stuff and replaced it with my own.

Dual 3GHz p4, 9800XT 256mb, 2GB of XMS2, 180(120+60)+250GB HD, 23" viewable flatscreen CRT
I don't believe I can edit the poll. I can't find the option anywhere :(. Also, that's a nice computer, sans the graphics card, but why the 2GB of RAM? Are you doing video editing of some type?

*EDIT* You can edit polls, however you cannot change the type of poll after the thread was started. -Cucumba
 
New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2004
Messages
232
Best answers
0
Intel Pentium III @ 1 GHz
256 MB of RAM
Geforce 4 MX 440
40 Gig 7200 RPM

sucks, huh? Do you recommend upgrading or just getting a new computer or getting a new laptop (going to college this fall) ?

EDIT:
and what is Alienware?
is it comparable to Dell?? or is it totally different?
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Apr 7, 2003
Messages
1,478
Best answers
0
I like multi-tasking. (Which is why I love the dual intel). I rip a lot of DVDs/encode them, and I like to do so while playing games.
 
New Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2003
Messages
375
Best answers
0
Built My Own

Intel Pentium 4 CPU 3.2GHZ HT
1 GIG Ram
Asus P4S800 Mobo
XFX Nvidia Geforce 6600 GT
Sound Blaster Live! LS
600 wat PSU ;)

also have like 8 red neon fans :p
 
New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2002
Messages
676
Best answers
0
Had mine built by a friend out in California.

Computer Specs: AMD Athlon64 [email protected] 939 chipset, MSI K8N NeoPlatnum2 939 mobo, 1GB Corsair Extreme Performance DDR Ram, ATI x800PRO, 74GB 10,000 WD Raptors x2 on Raid 0, 7,200 250GB WD x2 on Raid 1, SB Audigy2 ZS Platnum Pro

 
Live free or die by the sword
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Messages
7,416
Best answers
0
Athlon X2 "Manchester" Dual Core 3800+ (2.0GHz)
2GB Corsair XMS Dual Channel PC3200 (400MHz) RAM
1000mhz Hyper Transport
x16 PCI-E Sapphire ATi x1900XT 256MB GDDR3 RAM
VPR Matrix 18 inch, rediculously high max res (set at 1280x1024 85Hz) Primary
27" Toshiba TV (Secondary)
ASRock Dual SATA2 Socket 939 Motherboard
Maxtor Diamondmax 120GB Ultra (Ultra DMA, ATA133, 7200 RPM, 8MB Cache)
Maxtor Diamondmax 300GB Ultra (Ultra DMA, ATA133, 7200 RPM, 16MB Cache)
LiteON 52x24x52 CDRW
LiteON 16x Dual Layer DVR+/-RW
Logitech G5 Laser Mouse
Logitech Elite USB Keyboard
Onboard 100MB/sec LAN (DSL connection 1.4mb down, 320k up.)
Linksys WRT54G Router
Onboard USB2
HP PSC 1610 All in one Printer, Copier, Scanner.
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers (RAWR)
Sexy Black Antec Sonata Lifestyle II Case with 4 80mm fans, and 1 120mm in back, three of which are blue LED.
600 watt PSU (generic, but gold plated for pimpness.)
An absurd collection of microphones, one is now USB.
Win XP Pro SP2

Assembled with love in the cold depths of the south pacific . . . under the waters . . . . . into the darkness . . . of P'Kyl.

[Updated with new ****]
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 25, 2001
Messages
1,331
Best answers
0
I only have a dell because it's difficult and expensive to build your own Laptop. Nearly impossible, since you have to go barebones.
 
Live free or die by the sword
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Messages
7,416
Best answers
0
I would never, EVER attempt to build my own laptop.
 
Banned
Banned
Joined
Apr 20, 2005
Messages
378
Best answers
0
AMD XP 1600
Nvidia G-force 4 MX440 - se
256 DDram
hdd 40 gb
teac CD-rom
Sony 15 Sf trinitron bla bla bla (computers X-pensive in romania :()
 
New Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2002
Messages
442
Best answers
0
Processor: 2.40 ghz
Ram: 1 Gig
HD: 60 GB ???RPM ??MB Cache (came with my dell >_<)
200 GB 7200RPM 8 MB Cache
Video Card: GeForce FX 5900 128 MB

So you know.. Mines not bad.
 
New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2002
Messages
436
Best answers
0
Home brew, just some of the basic specs (I am to lazy to care about specifics):

CPU: AMD 3200 Athlon XP
Mobo: Gigabyte K7 Triton series
RAM: 1GB PC3200
HD: 80GB WD 7200RPM HDD 8MB Cache
250GB WD 7200RPM HDD 8MB Cache
80GB WD 7200RPM HDD 8MB Cache
VC: Hercules 9800 Pro 128MB

I use this station for ripping and encoding DVD's for the most part, and a few games from time to time.

SailorAlea said:
I rip a lot of DVDs/encode them
I am curious as to what software you use Sailor? As for me I use Gordian Knot and Xvid as my codec.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
Messages
1,092
Best answers
0
Built My Own

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 bit 3700+ 754 socket
Mobo: ASUS K8v SE DELUXE
RAM: 2GB DDR400 PC3200 ( 2 X 1024MB CL 2)
HD: 60GB, 160GB
GFX: Sapphire Radeon X800 XT 256MB AGP
Heatsink: Thermalright XP-120 (big whore!)
- 2 Green light sticks.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Banned
Joined
Dec 21, 2003
Messages
3,608
Best answers
0
My Specs, bishes =P.

Processor: 2400+ @ 2.3GHZ (11.5x200)
Mainboard: Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe (nForce2 Ultra 400 chipset)
Memory: 1.5GB DDR 400Mhz (3x512, 2.5-4-4-8)
Graphics Card: Powercolor 128mb ATI Radeon 9600PRO
Hard drives: 160GB Samsung SATA (Partitioned, 20gb for Windows and rest for games, music, media, dvd rips etc), 40GB Quantum Fireball IDE
Optical Drivers: 16x dvd-rom, Pioneer DVR-109 16x dvd-burner
My case: Silver X-blade. 2x120mm fans, 1x80mm fan

Primary Screen: Samsung sync master 750ms

Secondary Screen: Proview 17inch screen

Brother's PC:
Processor: 2.8ghz Prescott P4 Socket 478
Mainboard: ASUS P4P800-E Deluxe
Memory: 1GB DDR 400Mhz (2x512)
Hard drives: 120GB Seagate SATA, 20GB IDE
Graphics Card: ATI 256mb Radeon 9800PRO (256bit version)

Brother's Media Center (Dell PC):
Processor: 2.8ghz P4 Prescott LGA775
Memory: 512mb DDR2 533mhz memory (2x256)
Graphics Card:Onboard GFX (is currently searching for a low profile card).
Mainboard:Intel 915 chipset Desktop Board
Hard drive:80GB SATA

Brother's Guest Computer (Another Dell box):
Processor: 2ghz P4 (400mhz FSB 4x100).
Memory: 1GB DDR 333Mhz (2x512)
Graphics Card: Geforce4 TI4800se
Hard drivers: 40GB IDE

Guest PC 2:
Processor: Pentium3 933mhz Socket 370 @ 1.1Ghz
Memory: 512mb SD PC133mhz.
Mainboard: ASUS CUSL2-C
Graphics Card: 64mb Geforce4 Ti4200
Hard drives: 20GB IDE

Guest PC 3:
Processor: Pentium3 933mhz Socket 370
Memory: 256Mb SD PC133mhz.
Mainboard: Intel Desktop Board (Don't remember which chipset).
Graphics Card: 32mb Geforce2 GTS
Hard drives: 10GB IDE

Ubuntu Server Box:
Processor: Pentium3 550mhz Slot1
Memory: 224mb SD PC100 (1x128, 1x64, 1x32)
Hard drives: 10GB IDE, 2x 6GB IDE
Graphics Card: Onboard 8mb Video

Network Router: D-link DGL4300.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jun 8, 2004
Messages
5,216
Best answers
0
^ Heh, you have the same case as me :)

Last edited by SAIYAN_OVERLORD : 05-22-2005 at 08:15 AM.
:O SaiyanOverlord=RandyHobo :O
 
G-Bear
Joined
Nov 28, 2002
Messages
762
Best answers
0
Buit my own:

Processor: AMD Athlon XP 2500+ OCed to XP 3200+ [With special artic cooler]
Memory: 512 MB Kingston DDR3200/400
Motherboard: Asus A7V600
Videocard: Creative Geforce 4 TI 4800 SE 128 MB DDR
Hard Disc: Maxtor 80 GB 7200 RPM [SATA]

If I cant run Battlefield 2 I'll consider upgrading, till then, I'm fine =]

You can't, sorry :(. BF2 will require a DX9 card.

Not entirely true, it BF2 needs a card supporting pixelshader 1.4.(Radeon 8500)

But more games say this, but run perfectly fine, so Ill give it a shot.
 

CM

New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Banned
Joined
May 6, 2003
Messages
1,763
Best answers
0
Built my own - New one, built a couple days ago.

AMD Athlon 64 4000+ w/ HTT CPU
1024mb (2x512mb) DDR-400 PC3200 Corsair XMS Pro RAM
Abit AV8, 5.1 Sound, USB 2.0, 8x AGP Motherboard
Western Digital 160gb 7200 RPM Ultra ATA-100 2mb Cache HDD
ATI Radeon X800-XT 256mb DDR3 8x AGP Video Card

And, a 19" LCD screen (LG Electronics), freakin thing is huge, I'm so used to my old 17" CRT.

I have an old Dell too -_-.
 
New Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2005
Messages
104
Best answers
0
SailorAlea said:
Dual 3GHz p4, 9800XT 256mb, 2GB of XMS2, 180(120+60)+250GB HD, 23" viewable flatscreen CRT

Yeah, right... hate to be the one to say it but the Pentium 4 processor doesn't even support dual processing. Dual Xeon, I'd believe. Dual P4's, you're lying out your ass.

Did you mean to say you have a Pentium Extreme Edition? That has a dual core, which is just about the equivalent to having dual processors.

...

Anyway, my PC's a pile, and honestly, I don't even know it's specs.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top