Weird crash

New Member
Discord Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2009
Messages
4
Best answers
0
I installed ESF and tried to play but after a few seconds, it crashes to desktop. If I try to create a server as soon as I open the game, it loads the first bar and stops at "Estabilishing..." returning to the main menu screen. I'm using a Intel GMA 950, is there some kind of incompatibility? I have Windows 7 and updated drivers. Tried compatibility mode too but it didn't work. What can I do to get it running?
 

sub

Active Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jun 18, 2003
Messages
5,960
Best answers
0
No idea. Its not windows 7 or anything, it should work fine with that.

Do you have Steam and a valid copy of Half-Life 1 installed?
 
New Member
Discord Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2009
Messages
4
Best answers
0
Actually I would have if Valve didn't have some print problems and had given me an duplicated CD-Key when I bought an original copy. But the ESF is "steamed". I've played this game that way on another computer before but, for some unknown reason, I can't play on this one.
 
Now with Kung-Fu action!
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 13, 2004
Messages
1,761
Best answers
0
By "steamed", do you mean you've added a non-steam game? If so, that won't quite cut it. ESF requires the latest version of HL1 (there are a few things from it ESF needs), which is only available through STEAM.

I'm afraid there's nothing that we can do to get ESF working fully otherwise.
 
New Member
Discord Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2009
Messages
4
Best answers
0
Yes. Damn, I would like to play that game. Thanks for helping.
 
Freelance Mappzor
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
17,065
Best answers
0
Yes. Damn, I would like to play that game. Thanks for helping.
You do know that adding a nonsteam game is the exact same thing as making a shortcut on the desktop right?
 
Freelance Mappzor
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
17,065
Best answers
0
Not really. Few games actually work.
So you are saying the fact that i added solitare in there i actually made it a STEAM game.

Get real ^^

Nothing changes. Not the game version, not the net protocol and not the menus. HL has different menus for steam/nonsteam. Nothing changes.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top