The Free and Paid Game/MMO list

New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
3,399
Best answers
0
Read second post:
 
Last edited:

MC

New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
3,991
Best answers
0
Updated list (03/22/10):

Note: MMOs that have been (or in the process of being) shutdown or canceled will be in light gray bold font; MMOs that I enjoyed and recommend will be in green bold font.

Note: The "Free-to-Play MMOs" section is of MMOs that I've played.

Note: All of the following MMOs are published in either North America or internationally.

Free-to-Play MMOs

12Sky
12Sky 2 - http://12-sky2.aeriagames.com/
2029 - http://2029.igg.com/
2Moons
4Story/Gates of Andaron - http://www.global.4story.com/ or http://www.gatesofandaron.com/
9Dragons - http://www.gamersfirst.com/9dragons/
ACE Online - http://ace.subagames.com/
Age of Armor - http://aoa.us.woniu.com/
Aika Online - http://aika.gpotato.com/
Alliance of Valiant Arms - http://ava.ijji.com/
Allods - http://allods.gpotato.com/
Anarchy Online* - http://www.anarchy-online.com/
ArchLord - http://archlord.webzen.com/
Asda Story - http://www.asdastory.com/
Atlantica Online - http://atlantica.ndoorsgames.com/center/default.asp or http://atlantica.ijji.com/center/default.asp
Azuga: Age of Chaos - http://azuga.playomg.com/
Battle of the Immortals - http://boi.perfectworld.com/
Battlefield Heroes - http://www.battlefieldheroes.com/
Blade Wars - http://bw.us.changyou.com/en/
BOTS!!
Bounty Bay - http://www.bountybayonline.com/en/freetoplay/index.html
Bright Shadow - http://brightshadow.gamepotusa.com/
CABAL Online - http://www.cabal.com/
Cartoon Network Universe: FusionFall (browser) - http://fusionfall.cartoonnetwork.com/splashpage.html
Cities XL
Cloud Nine/Holic 2 - http://cloudnine.netgame.com/
Combat Arms - http://combatarms.nexon.net/
Conquer Online - http://co.91.com/index/
Corum Online
Crossfire - http://crossfire.z8games.com/
Deco Online - http://www.joymax.com/deco/
DEICIDE - http://deicide.ongameport.com/
DOFUS - http://www.dofus.com/en
Dragon Oath - http://do.us.changyou.com/
Dragon Sky
Dream of Mirror Online - http://domo.aeriagames.com/
Dreamlords - http://www.dreamlords.com/home.action
Dungeon Runners
Dungeons & Dragons Online* - http://www.ddo.com/
Dungeon Fighter Online - http://dungeonfighter.nexon.net/
Earth Eternal
Ether Saga - http://eso.perfectworld.com/
Exteel
Face of Mankind - http://fomportal.com/
Fantasy Earth Zero - http://fez.gamepotusa.com/
Fiesta Online - http://fiesta.outspark.com/
FlyFF - http://flyff.gpotato.com/?m=welcome
FOnline: 2238 (requires Fallout 2) - http://fonline2238.blogspot.com/
Free Realms (browser)* - http://www.freerealms.com/
Fung Wan
Ghost X - http://ghostx.gamekiss.com/main.jce
Gods War Online - http://gw.igg.com/
Grand Fantasia - http://grandfantasia.aeriagames.com/
GunZ: The Duel - http://gunz.ijji.com/
Hero Online - http://hero.netgame.com/
Heroes of Three Kingdoms - http://hotk.perfectworld.com/
Holic Online
HolyBeast Online - http://hb.getamped.com/ or http://holybeast.ijji.com/
Jade Dynasty - http://jd.perfectworld.com/
Kabod Online - http://www.kabodonline.net/00main/index.asp
Kal Online - http://www.inixgame.com/kalonline/
Karos Online - http://www.karosgame.com/bridge.nhn
Kingdom Heroes - http://kingdomheroes.aeriagames.com/
Last Chaos - http://lastchaos.aeriagames.com/
Land of Chaos Online (LOCO) - http://loco.en.alaplaya.net/
Lunia - http://lunia.ijji.com/
Mabinogi - http://mabinogi.nexon.net/Preview/intro.htm
Martial Heroes - http://martialheroes.gamersoxygen.com/site_en.html
Mu Online - http://muonline.webzen.com/
Myst Online: Uru Live - http://mystonline.com/en/
Mytheon - http://www.mytheongame.com/
Navy Field - http://www.navyfield.com/main.asp
N.E.O.: New Era Odyssey - http://neo.playomg.com/
Neo Steam: The Shattered Continent - http://neosteam.atlusonline.com/ or http://neosteam.ijji.com/
NIDA Online
Perfect World - http://pwi.perfectworld.com/
Phoenix Dynasty Online - http://pdo.enjoymmo.com/
Project of Planets - http://www.projectofplanets.com/
R.O.H.A.N.: Blood Feud - http://www.playrohan.com/ or http://rohan.ijji.com/
Rakion Online - http://rakion.softnyx.net/
Ran Online - http://www.ran-world.com/
Rappelz - http://rappelz.gpotato.com/
Requiem: Bloodymare - http://www.playrequiem.com/
Rising Force Online - http://www.playrf.com/index.asp
Runes of Magic - http://us.runesofmagic.com/us/index.html
Scions of Fate - http://fate.netgame.com/
Shaiya - http://shaiya.aeriagames.com/
Shattered Dimension/HE Online
Shin Megami Tensei: Imagine Online - http://megaten.aeriagames.com/
Sho Online - http://shoonline.neofun.com/
Silkroad Online - http://www.joymax.com/silkroad/
Soul of the Ultimate Nation - http://sun.ijji.com/ or http://sunonline.webzen.com/
Sword of the New World: Granado Espada - http://www.gamersfirst.com/swordofthenewworld/
Tales of Pirates - http://top.igg.com/
Talisman Online - http://www.talismanonline.com/
Tantra Online
The Chronicles of Spellborn
The Lord of the Rings Online - http://lotro.com/
The Warlords - http://wl.91.com/index/
Three Kingdoms
Titan Online
Uncharted Waters - http://global.netmarble.com/uwo/
Valkyrie Sky - http://valkyriesky.gamekiss.com/main.jce
Voyage Century Online - http://vc.igg.com/
Warrior Epic - http://warriorepic.ijji.com/ or http://www.warriorepic.com/
Wizard101* - https://www.wizard101.com/start
Wonder King - http://wonderking.ndoorsgames.com/center/default.asp
World of Kung Fu - http://www.worldofkungfu.com/
WYD: With Your Destiny - http://wyd.gamebana.com/
Xiah Rebirth
Zero Online - http://zo.91.com/index/
Zone4 - http://zone4.ogplanet.com/home.html
Zu Online - http://zu.igg.com/

* Offers both free-to-play and pay-to-play subscription options.

Upcoming Free-to-Play MMOs

Forsaken World - http://fw.perfectworld.com/intro
Huxley: The Dystopia - http://huxley.ijji.com/
Immortals Online (re-release) - http://www.immortalsasia.com/
Infinity: The Quest for Earth - http://www.infinity-universe.com/Infinity/
Legendary Champions - http://legendarychampions.aeriagames.com/
Kitsu Saga - http://kitsusaga.aeriagames.com/
Kung Foo Online - http://foo.perfectworld.com/
Metin2 Online - http://metin2.subagames.com/
Pirates of the Burning Sea - http://www.burningsea.com/page/home
S4 League - http://www.s4league.com/
SevenSouls - http://www.sevensoulsonline.com/htm/main/main.php
Tales of Fantasy - http://tof.igg.com/
Uncharted Waters - http://global.netmarble.com/uwo/main.asp
World of Tanks - http://www.worldoftanks.com/

Pay-to-Play MMOs

Aion - http://aiononline.com/us/
Alganon** - http://www.alganon.com/
All Points Bulletin
Champions Online - http://champions-online.com/
City of Heroes/Villains - http://cityofheroes.com/ - http://cityofheroes.com/
CrimeCraft - http://www.crimecraft.com/
Darkfall - http://darkfallonline.com/
EVE Online - http://eveonline.com/
EverQuest - http://www.everquest.com/everquest.vm
EverQuest II* - http://everquest2.station.sony.com/
Fallen Earth - http://fallenearth.com/
Final Fantasy XI - http://playonline.com/ff11us/index.shtml
Fury
Global Agenda** - http://www.globalagendagame.com/
Guild Wars** - http://guildwars.com/
Lineage - http://lineage.com/
Lineage 2 - http://lineage2.com/
Mortal Online - http://mortalonline.com/
PlanetSide - http://planetside.station.sony.com/
Star Trek Online - http://startrekonline.com/
Star Wars Galaxies - http://starwarsgalaxies.station.sony.com/players/index.vm
Tabula Rasa
The Matrix Online
Ragnarok Online* - http://iro.ragnarokonline.com/
Vanguard: Saga of Heroes - http://vgplayers.station.sony.com/
Warhammer Online - http://warhammeronline.com/
World of Warcraft - http://worldofwarcraft.com/index.xml

* Offers both free-to-play and pay-to-play subscription options.
** No subscription fee.

Upcoming Pay-to-Play MMOs

Astronaut: Moon, Mars and Beyond - http://ipp.gsfc.nasa.gov/mmo/
Black Prophecy - http://blackprophecy.com/
Blade & Soul - http://www.bladeandsoul.com/global/en
DC Universe Online - http://dcuo.station.sony.com/
Earthrise - http://play-earthrise.com/
Fallout Online - http://www.fallout-on-line.com/
Final Fantasy XIV Online - http://www.finalfantasyxiv.com/
Gods & Heroes: Rome Rising - http://www.godsandheroes.com/
Guild Wars 2** - http://www.guildwars2.com/en/
Jumpgate: Evolution - http://us.jumpgateevolution.com/
LEGO Universe - http://universe.lego.com/en-us/default.aspx
Mythos - http://www.mythos.com/
Rift: Planes of Telara - http://www.riftgame.com/en/
Star Wars: The Old Republic - http://swtor.com/
Stargate Worlds - http://www.stargateworlds.com/
Tatsumaki: Land at War* - http://www.landatwar.com/
TERA - http://www.tera-online.com/
The Secret World - http://darkdaysarecoming.com/

* Subscription model hasn't been announced.
** No subscription fee.
 
Last edited:
Dudemeister
★ Black Lounger ★
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jan 16, 2007
Messages
1,672
Best answers
0
Instead of copy/pasting, why don't you post MMOs that you actually know and make a little description?
If not http://www.onrpg.com/ is the place to go.
 

MC

New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
3,991
Best answers
0
Instead of copy/pasting, why don't you post MMOs that you actually know and make a little description?
If not http://www.onrpg.com/ is the place to go.
I've played most of the MMOs I listed.

I threw in three quick "notable mentions."
 
Last edited:
Force Pit Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
994
Best answers
0
Jesus, I saw you mentioning DarkFall as a free game, but it seems you need to pay for it.

Maybe you can correct me? cause I really want to play Darkfall but I can't afford paying for it.

Is it still free?
 

MC

New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
3,991
Best answers
0
Jesus, I saw you mentioning DarkFall as a free game, but it seems you need to pay for it.

Maybe you can correct me? cause I really want to play Darkfall but I can't afford paying for it.

Is it still free?
My mistake.

I was under the impression that it was free-to-play, but after doing a quick Google search, I found that it's subscription based.
 
The Brain Freezer
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Sep 9, 2007
Messages
1,374
Best answers
0
Last chaos is a fine free mmo, worth a try.

I didnt know 9 dragons was free :D

Does anyone have any news about DB:Online?
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
3,399
Best answers
0
Last Chaos looks so much better than when it was released

MC, that list is useful but 3/4 of those games do suck. I'm trying to limit the bad ones. Otherwise thanks man. :p
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 7, 2002
Messages
2,275
Best answers
0
seeing how you have games with similar subscriber bases in your "mmo kings" part, care to chuck in Age of Conan?
 
Now with Kung-Fu action!
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 13, 2004
Messages
1,761
Best answers
0
Archlord's alright for a free MMO. The classes are a bit limited but there's a fair few things to do. It was originally a game one bought on CD and had a subscription but became free and downloadable. There is stuff you can pay real money for though.

Planeshift wasn't that great. It's pretty ugly and unfinished, many classes lacked models. Mabinogi won't let you play from certain countries.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Mar 29, 2003
Messages
4,765
Best answers
0
Seriously, I'm waiting for Jumpgate Evolution. MMO + Freelancer controls, it just has to be awesome.
 
The Brain Freezer
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Sep 9, 2007
Messages
1,374
Best answers
0
As anyone ever played freerealms? It seems to be very entertaining.
[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AYlHmDS1iU0&feature=player_embedded[/ame]
 
Force Pit Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
994
Best answers
0
I have noticed there was an increase in the Real-time combat mmorpgs. Now 2 things separate me and them - Some aren't released yet(in beta) and the monthly payment. (monthly, god sakes, how can some people afford it)

I thought about this idea a few years ago, hardly expressed it, I guess it is gonna make some kind of revolution in the MMOs.

I'm glad its happening though.

I will give some:

DarkFall http://www.darkfallonline.com/
The Chronicles Of Spellborn http://www.tcos.com/en/index.html
Mortal Online http://www.mortalonline.com/
 
The Duke of Juke
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 24, 2002
Messages
2,852
Best answers
0
Cabal Online is pretty fun. Once you reach level 10 you gain the ability to combo your skills. You use the Combo Skill, it brings up a bar that offers increased Damage and EXP. The bar fills up and you use an attack skill when the bar hits the designated spot on the bar. You can attack much faster than casting the skills normally and it keeps the grind a bit interesting. It's important to pick your skills carefully, as their cooldowns still apply and will break the combo if you use a skill that isn't ready to be used again.

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_q1nn0NbfwA[/ame]
 
Last edited:
The Duke of Juke
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 24, 2002
Messages
2,852
Best answers
0
I've played it for like two hours and its pretty good. Probably not for anyone who wants a serious MMO.
Oh ****, a nice casual social MMO? This may be perfect for me.
 
The Brain Freezer
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Sep 9, 2007
Messages
1,374
Best answers
0
I've played it for like two hours and its pretty good. Probably not for anyone who wants a serious MMO.
The fact people get tired of serious mmos, is because they are serious. I'm problably gonna give this a try. Deman, if you start playing tell me the server you choose xD.
 
The Duke of Juke
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 24, 2002
Messages
2,852
Best answers
0
Ragnarok Online also has a free to play server with a cash shop. The increased the experience rates of their pay servers and the free server is set to what those were originally at. Still doesn't stop it from being a grindy game though.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
3,399
Best answers
0
Free Realms is actually aimed at age 10 and up. Seen their commercials on the Disney Channel. It's still fun.

It keeps putting me into Server 4... my characters name is Jamesy... lul.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top