GeForce GTS450

New Member
Proud owner of HL
Joined
Feb 12, 2010
Messages
403
Best answers
0
Hi guys... I'm planing to buy GeForce GTS450... but I don't know which one... the GeForce GTS450 1024 MB GDDR5, or GeForce GTS450 2048 MB DDR3. I've searched Google and I haven't found something about GTS450 2048 MB. All I know is that GTS450 1024 MB GDDR5 (1804 MHz Memory Clock) is faster than the GTS450 2048 MB DDR3 (1200 MHz Memory Clock). So i need support from you guys to tell me more about this GPUs, like... with which one I will have better performance in gaming? o_o

Thanks in Advance :yes:
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jun 9, 2009
Messages
1,328
Best answers
0
Both will have crappy game performance, no point in the 2GB version for a card like that. You won't be running at high enough resolutions where it'll matter.
 
New Member
Proud owner of HL
★ Black Lounger ★
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Oct 27, 2004
Messages
2,462
Best answers
0
When does the GPU RAM matter, out of curiosity? I have a AMD Radeon HD 6970M 2048 MB on my 2560x1440 iMac display, so having that kind of resolution, does one benefit from the extra memory?
 
New Member
Proud owner of HL
Joined
Apr 9, 2011
Messages
104
Best answers
0
It doesnt, it's one of those market schemes. You will require nothing more than 1024mb.
 
The Prodigy
Proud owner of HL
★ Black Lounger ★
Joined
Nov 9, 2002
Messages
676
Best answers
0
They'll both run pretty bad. I bought the GTX 550ti and was thoroughly disappointed. It ran hardly any better than my 9800GT. If you're buying the GTS450 to play Half-Life 2 and Half-life mods, it should run well. If you're planning on playing newer games however, I suggest buying a 560ti, because GTS450 won't cut it.

Also, wrong section.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jun 9, 2009
Messages
1,328
Best answers
0
It doesnt, it's one of those market schemes. You will require nothing more than 1024mb.
Not at all. BF3 can use 2GB and up easily. People with 590 3GB's are seeing 2.8GB of VRAM usage. My 470 maxes out @ like 1224 also, and I run @ 1920 x 1200. VRAm matters for multiple monitor setups, and high resolutions like listed above.
 
Super Saiyan Dabura
Proud owner of HL
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Oct 31, 2003
Messages
1,738
Best answers
0
If you are going with GeForce cards, buy anything that has 6 or 8 number in it example: 9800, 260, 280, 460.. as they are the best in its series
Also for performance: GTS = low, GTX = best.
 
The Prodigy
Proud owner of HL
★ Black Lounger ★
Joined
Nov 9, 2002
Messages
676
Best answers
0
Well if you're going for the 3 digit ones. The second number should be above 5, so 560, 570, 580 are good. Or 260, 275, or 280.

For the 4 digit ones.. Well just go for the 8800 or 9800. But even with those, you can't really expect to play the newer games.
 
New Member
Proud owner of HL
Joined
Feb 12, 2010
Messages
403
Best answers
0
Thank you guys... As for the GTS450... I was informed that GTS450 will run newer games like Need for Speed: The Run, Battlefield 3 and other in Ultra Settings on 1280x1024 Resolution (Thats my Max Res, I'm using 19" Monitor). But also Im informed that AMD Radeon HD 6770 has the same price and It's better than GTS450... so now I'm confused... :-/

BTW I'm not buying GTX... if i buy GTX, I'll take 560 Ti 2048, but you'll need extra money for that :)
 
Super Saiyan Dabura
Proud owner of HL
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Oct 31, 2003
Messages
1,738
Best answers
0
Another note is to know how much "bits" card has, for example everything from 256 bit and above will push your games to high and extra high settings no problem.
But with strong cards you will need stronger PSU.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jun 9, 2009
Messages
1,328
Best answers
0
Another note is to know how much "bits" card has, for example everything from 256 bit and above will push your games to high and extra high settings no problem.
But with strong cards you will need stronger PSU.

...

What am I reading here?
 
New Member
Proud owner of HL
Joined
Apr 9, 2011
Messages
104
Best answers
0
Not at all. BF3 can use 2GB and up easily. People with 590 3GB's are seeing 2.8GB of VRAM usage. My 470 maxes out @ like 1224 also, and I run @ 1920 x 1200. VRAm matters for multiple monitor setups, and high resolutions like listed above.
Ok clearly you've misunderstood, I tailored my answer for his specific needs which I took a guess at due to the lack of information.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Oct 4, 2004
Messages
1,572
Best answers
0
Ok clearly you've misunderstood, I tailored my answer for his specific needs which I took a guess at due to the lack of information.
The raptor-lords of ZEROX SEVEN would disagree, while smoking their sea-water infused pipes with great glee.
 
New Member
Proud owner of HL
Joined
Apr 9, 2011
Messages
104
Best answers
0
The raptor-lords of ZEROX SEVEN would disagree, while smoking their sea-water infused pipes with great glee.
What kind of exalted position do you have at the profession otherwise known as trolling. Grand master at norwiegan lodge #9?
 
Cunning as Zeus
Proud owner of HL
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 23, 2003
Messages
6,079
Best answers
0
He was merely tailoring his response to your specific needs.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Oct 4, 2004
Messages
1,572
Best answers
0
What kind of exalted position do you have at the profession otherwise known as trolling. Grand master at norwiegan lodge #9?
I've seen the sky open up to reveal a large pizza. On it were the toppings of contempt. The lizardmen walk among us; not as men, but as horses. And horses without manes.
 
Freelance Mappzor
Proud owner of HL
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
17,065
Best answers
0
Avenget either be helpful or dont speak.

Ye' have been told.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Oct 4, 2004
Messages
1,572
Best answers
0
Okay, I'll be useful:

What kind of screen are you using for this? What resolutions does it support? Which resolution would you be playing at?
 
The very best there is.
Proud owner of HL
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
516
Best answers
0
Looks sorta tech-benchy to me. Let's give it a little push...
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top