ram question

New Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2004
Messages
652
Best answers
0
Does anyone know the difference between unbuffered and registered ram?
I was looking at buying ram and it appears that unbuffered seems to be cheaper than registered and if registered ram is so much more expensive then it makes sense that it would offer better "stuff" than unbuffered. So whats the difference and what does registered offer that unbuffered doesn't (if it offers anything at all).
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 14, 2003
Messages
1,929
Best answers
0
Registered RAM checks what it's storing and makes sure there's no corruption. Slight performance decrease compared to unregistered.
 
New Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2004
Messages
652
Best answers
0
Okay, well do you think that I should spend the more money for registered ram then, in your opinion? Because I plan on buying a gig of it and it's much less if i buy unbuffered or unregistered or whatever you want to call it. And I'm just 15, I dont have much money so I'm trying to spend as little money I can on my parts.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 14, 2003
Messages
1,929
Best answers
0
Your motherboard may not support registered memory.
 
New Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2004
Messages
652
Best answers
0
alright, thats fine. because I dont really want to spend the extra money if my mobo wont support it.
 
Live free or die by the sword
Retired Forum Staff
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Messages
7,416
Best answers
0
Check your motherboard documentation, some Xeon, Opteron, Athlon XP 64 and all Itanium chipsets require registered ram. If it doesn't, registered RAM probably won't work in your Mobo at all.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 14, 2003
Messages
1,929
Best answers
0
Registered RAM is used mainly in servers.
 
Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 21, 2003
Messages
3,608
Best answers
0
i have some eec sd memeory sitting in mt p3500 box at home :) , my mobo i got from skool with a p2350 , but his memory , suprisinly enough that board supported it

to tell you the truth thou , i wouldn't waste my time with it these days , thou if ppl owe me an expensive favour or my bro (we do get that happen in some cases) then we decide what we want (my supplier is such a good m8 ;) )
 
Live free or die by the sword
Retired Forum Staff
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Messages
7,416
Best answers
0
Smith| said:
Registered RAM is used mainly in servers.
Yes, but more than one consumer grade mobo requires registered RAM.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top