JOINING PROBLEM!

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2006
Messages
4
Best answers
0
We have 2 computers at home.. And we want to play trough lan esf with each other.. But there is a problem.. When i make a server .. there is no problem . But if the other one wants to join it says.. Connection failed: After 4 retries -_- And the same thing happens if the other pc creates a server.
Plz help!
 

MC

New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
3,989
Best answers
0
We have 2 computers at home.. And we want to play trough lan esf with each other.. But there is a problem.. When i make a server .. there is no problem . But if the other one wants to join it says.. Connection failed: After 4 retries -_- And the same thing happens if the other pc creates a server.
Plz help!
Are you using Steam?
 
New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2006
Messages
4
Best answers
0
Yes but not with this game, but there should be no problem with joining each others servers..
Game: Hl1 and i think it works with WON or sometin (im not sure if its helpfull)
 
New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2006
Messages
4
Best answers
0
does it have to do with firewall or someting? just a guess:scared:
 

MC

New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
3,989
Best answers
0
If you're using the latest version of ESF (ESF 1.2.3 or ESF 1.3 Open Beta), then you need to use Steam.

If you're own the same network, then I don't think the firewall would be the problem (I'm not too sure though).
 
New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2006
Messages
4
Best answers
0
hmm... ;/ :smile: thnx MC
is there someone who can help me more?
sooo...it is possible to play against each other when you have 1.2 not 1.2.3 without steam?
 

MC

New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
3,989
Best answers
0
hmm... ;/ :smile: thnx MC
is there someone who can help me more?
sooo...it is possible to play against each other when you have 1.2 not 1.2.3 without steam?
It's possible, but it's against the forum rules to explain how.

Besides, Steam is better for online play then WON (in my opinion).
 
Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
1,386
Best answers
0
I have two comps, too. Once I got the similar problem, and I resolved it by going this way Play On Lan> Create> Advanced Options> (chack Lan)> PLAY.
And @MC: Hows that possible I played ESF before without Steam nor WON.
 
Active Member
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
3,055
Best answers
0
I have two comps, too. Once I got the similar problem, and I resolved it by going this way Play On Lan> Create> Advanced Options> (chack Lan)> PLAY.
And @MC: Hows that possible I played ESF before without Steam nor WON.
You played without either of them? I don't think that's possible.
 
Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
1,386
Best answers
0
It is. I got Steam, when I heard it exist on this forum. I played it 2 yrs without Steam NOR WON, Just installed HL1 and ESF 1.2.3 with ECX and played just like that.
 
Active Member
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
3,055
Best answers
0
It is. I got Steam, when I heard it exist on this forum. I played it 2 yrs without Steam NOR WON, Just installed HL1 and ESF 1.2.3 with ECX and played just like that.
DOH! ...Half-Life originally used WON... *smacks forehead and shakes head*
 
Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
1,386
Best answers
0
How the Won looks like? Maybe I had it but didn't know. Really, ain it strange?
 
Active Member
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
3,055
Best answers
0
How the Won looks like? Maybe I had it but didn't know. Really, ain it strange?
Well, practically nobody uses WON anymore, so it might be kinda hard to find a screenshot. Ask some of the Steam haters around here, one of them might have a screenshot.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top