ESF Kicks me to desktop upon join.

Base belongs to me.
๐Ÿ‘‘ Administrator
๐ŸŒ  Staff
โœ”๏ธ HL Verified
Discord Linked
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
Messages
10,777
Best answers
0
In mostly all servers, when i attempt to join a server. It kicks me back to the desktop with no reason or error at all. I can create my own server without a problem, and join some of the servers without a problem. But with most servers it just kicks me out, and this happens when the loading procedure is about 98%, just before joining the server. Anyone can help me further with this?
 

MC

New Member
๐Ÿ’ป Oldtimer
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
3,989
Best answers
0
I used to have that, all I did was reinstall ESF and the problem went away.
 
Base belongs to me.
๐Ÿ‘‘ Administrator
๐ŸŒ  Staff
โœ”๏ธ HL Verified
Discord Linked
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
Messages
10,777
Best answers
0
Odd, i did re-installed. Problems keeps happening to me.
 
Beta Tester Squad
๐Ÿ’ป Oldtimer
โœ”๏ธ HL Verified
๐Ÿš‚ Steam Linked
Discord Linked
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
3,088
Best answers
0
it may be a plugin or someting like this
 
New Member
๐Ÿ’ป Oldtimer
Joined
Sep 11, 2005
Messages
3,746
Best answers
0
FF|Skyrider said:
Odd, i did re-installed. Problems keeps happening to me.
Iv'e Installed it 4 times and it still happens randomly but rarely.
 
New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2006
Messages
430
Best answers
0
FF|Skyrider said:
In mostly all servers, when i attempt to join a server. It kicks me back to the desktop with no reason or error at all. I can create my own server without a problem, and join some of the servers without a problem. But with most servers it just kicks me out, and this happens when the loading procedure is about 98%, just before joining the server. Anyone can help me further with this?
I had a problem like this. When i tried to join a server when was precaching resources it just told me disconnected. I reinstalled esf in an another partition of my hdd and it worked. Try reinstalling in another partition (if you do have more than one)
 
Freelance Mappzor
๐Ÿ’ป Oldtimer
โœ”๏ธ HL Verified
๐Ÿš‚ Steam Linked
Discord Linked
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
17,065
Best answers
0
Punishing said:
How will help the configuration of the video settings solve his problem?
Well if he has it set to software mode than it would explain everything. (Software us unstable)

But since i know sky dosent use software im kinda puzzled :s

Say does this happen only in ESF or other HL games to?
 
Base belongs to me.
๐Ÿ‘‘ Administrator
๐ŸŒ  Staff
โœ”๏ธ HL Verified
Discord Linked
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
Messages
10,777
Best answers
0
All other modifications as well. And video settings has nothing to do with it due i can create servers, and join some servers. I've heard the problem is because of Internet Explorer v7. Don't think I'm a noob at this, I've attempted a lot of things to even try to get this fixed, none of them worked so far.
 
New Member
๐Ÿ’ป Oldtimer
Joined
Jul 20, 2005
Messages
1,030
Best answers
0
Well, if it's Internet Explorer that's causing the problem, get rid of it. I'm serious, you shouldn't use it anyway if you ask me, cuz' you can get tons of viruses through it regardless of what routers or firewalls u have. I suggest you get Firefox, it's a much better, faster, and simpler browser.
 
Freelance Mappzor
๐Ÿ’ป Oldtimer
โœ”๏ธ HL Verified
๐Ÿš‚ Steam Linked
Discord Linked
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
17,065
Best answers
0
dan_esf_fanatic said:
Well, if it's Internet Explorer that's causing the problem, get rid of it. I'm serious, you shouldn't use it anyway if you ask me, cuz' you can get tons of viruses through it regardless of what routers or firewalls u have. I suggest you get Firefox, it's a much better, faster, and simpler browser.
It also requires Internet explorer 6 to run (or was that IE 5.5) XD

Not shure anyhow yea if IE is the problem revert.
 

MC

New Member
๐Ÿ’ป Oldtimer
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
3,989
Best answers
0
FF|Skyrider said:
All other modifications as well. And video settings has nothing to do with it due i can create servers, and join some servers. I've heard the problem is because of Internet Explorer v7. Don't think I'm a noob at this, I've attempted a lot of things to even try to get this fixed, none of them worked so far.
Internet Explorer 7 causes problems with a number of programs, you might want to revert back to Internet Explorer 6.

The worst case senario would be you were VAC banned, which prevents you from joining VAC protected servers. Not that I'm implying that you cheat, it's just that VAC isn't the most accurate thing with modifications (in my opinion).
 
Lost in space
Banned
๐Ÿ’ป Oldtimer
Joined
Sep 20, 2003
Messages
3,211
Best answers
0
MC said:
Internet Explorer 7 causes problems with a number of programs, you might want to revert back to Internet Explorer 6.

The worst case senario would be you were VAC banned, which prevents you from joining VAC protected servers. Not that I'm implying that you cheat, it's just that VAC isn't the most accurate thing with modifications (in my opinion).
He wouldn't be able to log on if VAC banned him, if I'm not mistaken that is. From my guess, he can sometimes play, or always play, but at times he'll get kicked to his desktop.
 
Freelance Mappzor
๐Ÿ’ป Oldtimer
โœ”๏ธ HL Verified
๐Ÿš‚ Steam Linked
Discord Linked
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
17,065
Best answers
0
Chris` said:
He wouldn't be able to log on if VAC banned him, if I'm not mistaken that is. From my guess, he can sometimes play, or always play, but at times he'll get kicked to his desktop.
Nah if VAC banns you you just cant join VAC protected servers ^^
 
Lost in space
Banned
๐Ÿ’ป Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 21, 2003
Messages
3,608
Best answers
0
Steam users have reported issues in con junction with using IE7.
dan_esf_fanatic said:
Well, if it's Internet Explorer that's causing the problem, get rid of it. I'm serious, you shouldn't use it anyway if you ask me, cuz' you can get tons of viruses through it regardless of what routers or firewalls u have. I suggest you get Firefox, it's a much better, faster, and simpler browser.
Belive me if it were that simple I would be doing ti right now. Steam uses IE's rendering engine to display Steam update news, store info etc.

did you just reinstall esf or have you also tried reinstalling steam/hl aswell?. Also, try deleting clientregistry.blob in your steam folder (I was clearing out some fo the steam crash logs and noticed that when ever I launched steam it would always crash, so I deleted clientregistry.blob and started steam and that did the trick for me). I'm guessing one of the more recent hl updates has made esf unstable for you or it's just because of IE7 possibly.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top