Beta 1.1 Lag/Fps Tweaks

New Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2002
Messages
59
Best answers
0
MyStiX said:
I have XP and the tweaks worked lovely for me. Maybe your'e not saving your not doing something right? Depends, if your computer is already GOOD then I don't think you'll see a different, except for cheaper GFX. :rolleyes:

Fyrye, you have been told several times to stop double posting, use the
button. Same goes for you EnigmaHer0. :)
First i have seen about it, and had been using edit button. But sry if i have been.
 
New Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2002
Messages
59
Best answers
0
[SSJ]MyStIc said:
when i had windows XP i used the tweak and had constant 99 fps.
now i got windows 2000 and im using all the same commands and stuff in my autoex as in windows xp and i get like fps in the 20's and 30's. Nothing changed in my comp hardwarewise
Main change for you would be drivers for your hardware, update them and everything should be ok again.
 
New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2003
Messages
17
Best answers
0
Just was wondering if someone had the admin codes for like power-levels and life and stuff like that.
 
Moving with Sonic Speed
Retired Forum Staff
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jan 9, 2003
Messages
4,532
Best answers
0
There are no "admin codes" and you're off topic.
 
New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2003
Messages
1
Best answers
0
Well I heard that the radeon9700 causes trouble in halflife and has a poor performace overall. You can get tweaked driver for it so it runs much faster but i don't know where to find it. Try google :)
 
Lost in space
Banned
Joined
May 8, 2003
Messages
840
Best answers
0
most of my laggy stuff is not even when I start the game,
actually it is exactly when I start the game , you see:
when I hit create then OK and the blue screen appears
it takes at least 5 sometimes 7 minutes till it finishing
loading something
this is f*cking sh*tty lag!!
I have XP pentium 4 1400 MHZ 256 RAM!!!!!
its cant be slow this way so I must have a bug
ne ways if this is the wrong thread then hit me with the right one for me plz

BTW
I applied the instructions on the first page of this thread by groovy
it stills laggy on me
aspecially when I play my lan games
I cant complain though , it always was 30 FPS and it still is!

by respanding to me plz dont forget my first this I`ve said:paper:
 
New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2003
Messages
50
Best answers
0
This is a stupid question but how do i get into that file to add all of those lines? I'm a n00b to all of this computer s***.
 
New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2003
Messages
438
Best answers
0
My comp specs are

3.0 GHz
1024 DDR RAM
Geforce fx 5900...

and i get 60 fps.. i did all that **** and it stays the same i dotn understand
 
New Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
Messages
17
Best answers
0
Well For yous who do not know the previous probelm with redeon card the staff of seirra is making hl2 will no for support radeon cards because do to fact there running of advance version of current hl engine we are using right now and with radeon it would not work and it might not work with some others so if you arent getting anything high then 30 i would say it wont be compatible with the hl2 im sorry to say =\ i got a fps of 100 dead on im guess im lucky and video card is cause of all fps probelms some times the motherboards come with video card built in one work better due to fact is directly part motherboard and is being sent faster backforth then videocard if you have low fps with videocard like radeon or nvidia trying using a onboard videocard if it didnt come with one then try old videocard but if its not all that worth it to you to try any this or listen to probelms that will be in hl2 your missing alot info :p anyways i hope i helped =)(

You Hear That!!THATS CRY OF GREAT WARRIOR
KAKKAROT REMEMBER THAT NAME!!!
 

KCE

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2003
Messages
3
Best answers
0
The link's not working. Is there any other link or site I could get it from?
 

K

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2003
Messages
69
Best answers
0
uh i got a question after i put the cvars in the auto.exe file or watever its called and after i save the file do i have to put somethin in the console or somethin to activate the cvars or do they activate themselves as soon as i start a game?
 

K

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2003
Messages
69
Best answers
0
uh i got a question after i put the cvars in the auto.exe file or watever its called and after i save the file do i have to put somethin in the console or somethin to activate the cvars or do they activate themselves as soon as i start a game?
 
New Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
Messages
17
Best answers
0
Im not shure if it allows them to be added i would check somethings on help board to see but if you cant just add them then chances are its not coded in or it had to be complyed into code orignaly or else it wont work =\
 
New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
266
Best answers
0
My pc:
P4 3.0 ghz
1024 mb ram
nForce 2
150 gb hard disk...
This computer is(it is my,of course) strong enough to play doom 3 good like...
 
Lost in space
Banned
Joined
May 8, 2003
Messages
840
Best answers
0
eerrrmm.... K , I am not sure that Spamming is reallowed in any thread so please , dont!

and my unanswered question - why?
is all members of the ESFFORUM BANNING ME? lol

just respand it this time
and a remainder

[quate]most of my laggy stuff is not even when I start the game,
actually it is exactly when I start the game , you see:
when I hit create then OK and the blue screen appears
it takes at least 5 sometimes 7 minutes till it finishing
loading something
this is f*cking sh*tty lag!!
I have XP pentium 4 1400 MHZ 256 RAM!!!!!
its cant be slow this way so I must have a bug
ne ways if this is the wrong thread then hit me with the right one for me plz

BTW
I applied the instructions on the first page of this thread by groovy
it stills laggy on me
aspecially when I play my lan games
I cant complain though , it always was 30 FPS and it still is!

by respanding to me plz dont forget my first this I`ve said:paper:[/quate]
 
New Member
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
1,185
Best answers
0
The next part doesn't raise FPS, but it can really reduce your lag.

"Pushlatency": This command sets the prediction. Play online for a while and get familiar with your ping. Once you have an estimate of your average ping, set this value between negative 1/2 and negative 1 times the average ping. So, for example, if your ping was 300, you could set this to as low as -1/2 * 300 = -150 or as high as -300 (or between -300 and -150). My average ping is 80. My pushlatency is set to -40. In my autoexec, I have: pushlatency "-40" .

These are useful tweaking commands that you Half Life shortcut not your autoexec.

Mine is: C:\SIERRA\Half-Life\hl.exe -console -game esf -numericping -nojoy -32bpp -noipx

-console ~Sets console.
-game esf ~Starts up with ESF modification.
-numericping -Greatest thing ever. When looking at servers, it displays a number for ping instead of green/red dots.
-nojoy ~Deactivates joystick making connecting to servers slightly faster.
-32bpp ~Activates 32 bit color. Not good for bad or out of date computers.
-noipx ~Deactivates IPX, which makes connecting to servers a bit faster.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
2,278
Best answers
0
Optional said:
Things Satan forgot:

joystick "0"
_snd_mixahead "0.200"
m_filter "0"
gl_texsort "0"
gl_polyoffset "4.0"
texgamma "2.0"
lightgamma "2.5"
brightness "2.0"
r_decals "200"

The next part doesn't raise FPS, but it can really reduce your lag.

"Pushlatency": This command sets the prediction. Play online for a while and get familiar with your ping. Once you have an estimate of your average ping, set this value between negative 1/2 and negative 1 times the average ping. So, for example, if your ping was 300, you could set this to as low as -1/2 * 300 = -150 or as high as -300 (or between -300 and -150). My average ping is 80. My pushlatency is set to -40. In my autoexec, I have: pushlatency "-40" .

These are useful tweaking commands that you Half Life shortcut not your autoexec.

Mine is: C:\SIERRA\Half-Life\hl.exe -console -game esf -numericping -nojoy -32bpp -noipx

-console ~Sets console.
-game esf ~Starts up with ESF modification.
-numericping -Greatest thing ever. When looking at servers, it displays a number for ping instead of green/red dots.
-nojoy ~Deactivates joystick making connecting to servers slightly faster.
-32bpp ~Activates 32 bit color. Not good for bad or out of date computers.
-noipx ~Deactivates IPX, which makes connecting to servers a bit faster.

Wow amazing how I have those in my list yet you say I don't! Also there is hardly any noticible difference with -32bpp and -16bpp in HL, best to use -16bpp.
 
New Member
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
1,185
Best answers
0
Bah, missed it. Sorry. You still didn't have those shortcut links and stuff. :p
 
New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2003
Messages
3
Best answers
0
Hi guys
my problem is me lags horrible and the settings change to 4 fps
why? i can't change it in config i set 50 fps
and i also used another configs
my pc is a 1000mhz duron
256 mb ram
+dsl connection
ping is 200-500 fps jumps between 4 and 6
-.- this sucks hard
plz help me
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top