Technicly speaking...

Force Pit Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
994
Best answers
0
Is it possible to implement the gameplay of ESF to the single player story in Half Life?

It will be ESF's gameplay in the normal story mode of half life.

Is it possible? even if it will takes 20 years, is it possible?
 
NOT IN THE MANGA™
★ Black Lounger ★
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
3,270
Best answers
0
Sure, why not.
 

MC

New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
3,991
Best answers
0
From what I remember, you could play Half-Life maps in ESF simply by loading them through the console. Though, I don't remember if there was anything else that needed to be done in order to do that.
 
Proud owner of Half-Life
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
174
Best answers
0
I remember SS with Vegeta in it blasting a zombie @ moddb or somewhere else.
 
Pwns Mastasurf at TF2
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 7, 2001
Messages
5,115
Best answers
0
I'm really not sure what would happen if you tried that on the current ESF.
 
2D/3D Artist
★ Black Lounger ★
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Apr 28, 2003
Messages
2,999
Best answers
0
ESF can't load BSP files anymore, as far as I know.
You have to convert them in 3D Studio Max.
 
ESF Old Timer
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
643
Best answers
0
Well this is going to depend on what version we are talking about.
If it is ESF: Final then SV could be right on that.

If it is ESF 1.2.x then I think it is possible.
 
Freelance Mappzor
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
17,065
Best answers
0
In 1.2.3 simply copy the single player maps and load them VIA console.

Not possible on the Final since we dont have BSP support anymore.
 
brainfeeder
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 29, 2002
Messages
5,179
Best answers
0
Goku, with a crowbar?
 
Force Pit Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
379
Best answers
0
Even if you would convert those maps, the hl game would proberly not recognize waypoints or coordinates for the AI, which leaves you running in empty maps without exit points
 
Force Pit Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
994
Best answers
0
Even if you would convert those maps, the hl game would proberly not recognize waypoints or coordinates for the AI, which leaves you running in empty maps without exit points
That is exactly what I thought.

Another thing is that the computer should load sound files(like dialogues) in certain situations in events, like when you first meet someone.

Another thing is loading scenarios, like that reconnaissance thing that opens the portal in hl1. You are supposed to do certain things in order for that to work, and you also need the files and the coding for when and where they will be loaded.

I am talking about a full scale HL SP experience with Goku instead of Gordon
 
Freelance Mappzor
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
17,065
Best answers
0
You do realise that 99% of what you have to do is map entity based, right?

The entities work just fine. In 1.2 that is. In the Final thats a different story. As no brush based entities exist. Meaning no doors or elevators.
 
Force Pit Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
994
Best answers
0
So I can just load the SP maps on 1.2.3 and I could battle marines??
 
Freelance Mappzor
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
17,065
Best answers
0
Should work as long as you move ALL appropriate files over. Since waypoints are part of the BSP file.
 
Force Pit Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
379
Best answers
0
I remember john_volkov has done this already, maybe you could ask him for additional help if gregs advice doesn't work
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top