Starting a server with a network

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2003
Messages
7
Best answers
0
My internet connection has several computers hooked up to it, so its running on a network, when i try and start a server ppl cant see it or join it.

Is there a way to host a server with a network connection?..if so, please help me :)
 
Senior Member
★ Black Lounger ★
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Feb 17, 2003
Messages
1,483
Best answers
0
Gimmie your fire wall information.
 
New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2003
Messages
7
Best answers
0
dont have a firewall, its just that since i have more then 1 computer connected to my cable using wireless-b broadband router, ppl cant see my server, so i was wondering if theres a way fix this..
 
Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 1, 2002
Messages
2,725
Best answers
0
So is the computer you're hosting the server from going to be on a wireless connection? I wouldn't recommend doing that, if at all possible.

Are you hosting a listenserver (you make a game and play in it, it's gone when you quit), or a dedicated server? (a computer on your network hosts the game, but you cannot play using that computer) If you're making a dedicated server, there's a great site with all the information you'd need here.

Even if you're only making a listenserver, the way to get it so others can see past your router is the same. You have to forward these ports on your router. Depending on what brand of router you have, that'll be different. The website mentioned in that Steam answer should tell you exactly how to do it, if you don't already.

Then, once your server is up, make sure you give people your external IP. Forgive me if that sounds stupid, but there's far too many people who can't understand why people aren't getting in their server when they give them 192.168.0.x (their internal network IP).
 
New Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2005
Messages
807
Best answers
0
Are you sure you aren't creating a LAN game?# Sorry! The administrator has specified that users can only post one message every 120 seconds.
 
Senior Member
★ Black Lounger ★
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Feb 17, 2003
Messages
1,483
Best answers
0
You are aware that the wireless router itself is a fire wall. What are you specs.
 
Active Member
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
3,055
Best answers
0
KilledWithStyle said:
You are aware that the wireless router itself is a fire wall. What are you specs.
No it isnt.

And yes, there is a very simple way to host it. Open up Internet Explorer, and in the address bar, type "192.168.1.1".

Then, a box should pop up asking for a username and password. Here's what you do: Leave the username blank, and for the password, put "admin". You will now have access to your router. If you're on Linksys, go into the "Advanced" section, then go into the "Forwarding" tab. Now, type "27000" in the first box, on the left. And on the right, type "27030". Then check the "TCP" AND "UDP" boxes. Then you need to specify which computer you want these ports forwarded to, so go into Start, and click Run. In the box, type command or cmd. When the cmd pops up, type "ipconfig", then you should see a bunch of addresses. The one that says 192.168.1.x is your internal IP address, and is the one you should tell your router to forward the ports to. Now click apply in your forwarding settings, and run to host your new server.

I know, I'm goood.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top