HL+mods = ultra lag

ESF Head Team Mapper
πŸ‘‘ Administrator
🌠 Staff
βœ”οΈ HL Verified
πŸš‚ Steam Linked
πŸ‚ Regular
Joined
Dec 25, 2001
Messages
3,618
Best answers
0
Allright .. been having that problem since a little while now but I never really bothered to fix it

Whenever I start a HL server or join others (any mod), the game acts as if I had a ping of like <10.000 but my actual ping and fps are perfectly fine
The only thing that does not lag is the mouse .... basically my whole computer "lags".
I can't even alt+tab out of the game since that key combo is also "lagged"
The only thing that works is ctrl+alt+del

Its as if my computer is doing something else in the background that takes up like 99% cpu while playing HL but there is nothing else running ...

Wanted to make a thread about this on the steampowered forums but its not letting me post there at all for some reason (just registered .. probably have to wait 24hours or some crap -_-)

Any ideas what could cause this?
 
Beta Tester Squad
βœ”οΈ HL Verified
πŸš‚ Steam Linked
πŸ’» Oldtimer
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
3,089
Best answers
0
you might expirientes the lag because of spyware or other addwers in your pc, or maybe your antivirus just wont quit updating
 
ESF Head Team Mapper
πŸ‘‘ Administrator
🌠 Staff
βœ”οΈ HL Verified
πŸš‚ Steam Linked
πŸ‚ Regular
Joined
Dec 25, 2001
Messages
3,618
Best answers
0
hmm .. I guess I'll do a spyware scan now.
 
ESF Head Team Mapper
πŸ‘‘ Administrator
🌠 Staff
βœ”οΈ HL Verified
πŸš‚ Steam Linked
πŸ‚ Regular
Joined
Dec 25, 2001
Messages
3,618
Best answers
0
no spyware found, no virus ...
any other ideas?
I got all the latest drivers for my hardware :s

Actually I'll try to downgrade to an older gpu driver later ... its not like my 6600GT benefits from the very latest ones anyway -.-
 
Dudemeister
β˜… Black Lounger β˜…
βœ”οΈ HL Verified
πŸ’» Oldtimer
Joined
Jan 16, 2007
Messages
1,672
Best answers
0
did you try switching from direct3d to opengl or viceversa?
 
ESF Head Team Mapper
πŸ‘‘ Administrator
🌠 Staff
βœ”οΈ HL Verified
πŸš‚ Steam Linked
πŸ‚ Regular
Joined
Dec 25, 2001
Messages
3,618
Best answers
0
I'm on open gl since years and I refuse to go back to d3d
I'll try it out to see if it works though ^^

xp btw.
 
Former Forcepit Member :(
βœ”οΈ HL Verified
πŸ’» Oldtimer
Joined
Aug 21, 2006
Messages
1,715
Best answers
0
I'm on open gl since years and I refuse to go back to d3d
I'll try it out to see if it works though ^^

xp btw.
you could try going in to task maniger and ending programs you dont recognise this helped me out a lot
 
ESF Head Team Mapper
πŸ‘‘ Administrator
🌠 Staff
βœ”οΈ HL Verified
πŸš‚ Steam Linked
πŸ‚ Regular
Joined
Dec 25, 2001
Messages
3,618
Best answers
0
I'm on an overclocked athlon64 3000 with a gig ram and a 6600GT ... It normally has more then enough power for crappy old HL. And there is nothing else taking up cpu usage in the background ... that was the first thing I checked.
 
Active Member
βœ”οΈ HL Verified
πŸ’» Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
3,055
Best answers
0
When did this start? Do you remember installing anything new before this started happening?
 
ESF Head Team Mapper
πŸ‘‘ Administrator
🌠 Staff
βœ”οΈ HL Verified
πŸš‚ Steam Linked
πŸ‚ Regular
Joined
Dec 25, 2001
Messages
3,618
Best answers
0
it started a few weeks ago when we had a playtest session with the beta testers...
Its been a while since I used HL before that though so I don't really have any suspects software wise.
My only idea right now is to downgrade my graphic card drivers
 
Active Member
βœ”οΈ HL Verified
πŸ’» Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
3,055
Best answers
0
Then try that, see if it helps.
 
ESF Head Team Mapper
πŸ‘‘ Administrator
🌠 Staff
βœ”οΈ HL Verified
πŸš‚ Steam Linked
πŸ‚ Regular
Joined
Dec 25, 2001
Messages
3,618
Best answers
0
Using some older drivers now. Works like a charm again :)
 
Active Member
βœ”οΈ HL Verified
πŸ’» Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
3,055
Best answers
0
Great, glad to hear it. :D
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top