Help With Cel Shading

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2004
Messages
610
Best answers
0
yo, i'm a noob wen it comes 2 modeling n stuff n i jus started dis week. i noe how 2 fake cell shade da models but wen i try 2 compile, it sayz ************ ERROR ************
too many normals in model: "Gohan"
how can i compile da model? n btw, i used da tutorial on cel shading from da stickies
 
New Member
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 14, 2003
Messages
3,974
Best answers
0
too many normals means too many polies, whats the polycount of your model? i dunno if its true or not cos ive never done it, but if you use the fake cel shading, with the reversing verts and fatboying them, then ur effectively doubling the ammount of polies on the model...so maybe it doesnt like it...
 
New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2004
Messages
610
Best answers
0
i dunno about da polys cuz i'm a noob :( but da vertices r 4062, my friend said dat there mite b 2 many verticies but i dunno.
 
New Member
Joined
May 13, 2004
Messages
147
Best answers
0
It won't compile because of the reversed vertex faces. You have to many so the model get's errors. The only thing that works is the black out line but not the cel shading effect. It could POSSIBLY work if you got MilkShader.
 
Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Feb 26, 2004
Messages
1,178
Best answers
0
it's just to help :D , the polycount for hl is 3000 so redusing is realy requeted
 
New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
Messages
642
Best answers
0
Use proper english, not that "omg look at me im da gangsta!" stuff and you are easier to understand.
And "Too many normals" does mean too many vertexes, not polies. Be sure to use weld on the edited parts.
If it still refuses, do this:
1) Do your "fake cell shade" thing (But do NOT export anything, yet. Leave the original .smd untouched!)
2) Delete the original model, so you only have the "outline"
3) Export it as outline.smd or such into the folder where you decompiled the model
4) Go into the .qc file
5) Look for a line starting with
$body
6) Under that line, make a new line saying
$body "outline" "outline"
Make sure the second "outline" is like you named the outline's smd, just without the smd extension.
That way, you trick the poly/vertex limit of the compiler.
 
New Member
Joined
May 13, 2004
Messages
147
Best answers
0
If he want's cel-shading he isn't talking about the black outline. He is talking about the cartoon shading on the model, which doesn't export correctly.
 
New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
Messages
642
Best answers
0
So he is talking about the unweld-all thing?
reckoning, be more precise on what you did please.
 
New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2003
Messages
853
Best answers
0
He like used the alpha maping duplicate static cell shading in milkshape... there isnt a way i now of that u can export it... ive tried and ive failed....
 
New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2004
Messages
610
Best answers
0
sorry if i confused u. i'm using the effect of the FAKE cel-shading which means putting a black border line around da model den i'm unwelding it 2 give it a 2d feel. i've seen this done in da forums b4 n da models pwn. n btw only da krillin models work. i think its cuz of da model size n krillin has less vertices.
 
New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2003
Messages
853
Best answers
0
well do wat sin goku just told choo ^^ AHH i now why.. its cause you unwelded everything! There is a way to do that with out unwelding... it involves smoothing groups! Figure it out :p
 
New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2004
Messages
610
Best answers
0
So do I have to smooth groups so that it works or can I use Sin Goku's way to compile my model?
 
New Member
★ Black Lounger ★
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Apr 23, 2003
Messages
3,913
Best answers
0
when you export a model to smd smoothing groups are unwelded from the rest of the model instead of keeping the actual smoothing groups
 
New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2003
Messages
853
Best answers
0
ahh ok so that wouldnt work... damo lol so yeh u have to use sin gokus way..
 
New Member
Joined
May 3, 2003
Messages
123
Best answers
0
Almighty_gir said:
too many normals means too many polies, whats the polycount of your model? i dunno if its true or not cos ive never done it, but if you use the fake cel shading, with the reversing verts and fatboying them, then ur effectively doubling the ammount of polies on the model...so maybe it doesnt like it...
You are wrong, it would say the polycount is too high then. :rolleyes:

Autosmooth 'da' model in milkshape, and export.
 
New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
Messages
642
Best answers
0
If you also unwelded everything, you can truncate the model into multiple parts and then compile them into one via using more $body parts.
For example devide it into the arms, legs, head, torso and keep making smaller parts with less vertexes until you can compile it without problems.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top