Ad-ware is starting to drive me nuts!

New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2004
Messages
16
Best answers
0
I keep getting popups like this:



When I'm playing ESF or CS. It forces esf to minimize and go back to my desktop so that I can close the popup and when I go back to the game everything is messed up. I've tried everything to get rid of this popup problem. The programs I have used are:

-Yahoo anti-spy
-Ad-aware SE
-AVG (for viruses)

and yes they are all up to date. I'm sick and tired of all these popups. It seems like theres no solution at all to this problem. Argh :\
 
New Member
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
3,397
Best answers
0
Go to Tools / Manage Add-ons on internet explorer. Block the objects that seems suspecious to you. Worked for me. D:

If that doesn't work, i'd get this Bazooka Adware and Spyware Scanner. It scans for spyware, adware, trojans and viruses. It's not a spy either. I'd recommend this. It doesn't go and auto delete things. You have to use the register edit to delete them.

http://www.kephyr.com/spywarescanner/index.html
 
New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2004
Messages
16
Best answers
0
The problem isn't with IE. I already have a popup blocker for IE and it works fine for when I surf the net. But the problem is with adware which is like the bastard child of popups and spyware. I can't get rid of em >_<
 
New Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2005
Messages
4
Best answers
0
if i were you i would head over to google, and search for spyware doctor, great program, it should help you :)
 
New Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2005
Messages
28
Best answers
0
It is advertizements, but I have gotten this before. It's a spy inserted into you're computer you got while searching the net, and it will keep popping up unless you get rid of the spy. Here is a list of what you can do that helped me in the past:

1) Get on Internet Explorer and go to Tools > Internet Options then click Delete Files.

Or

2) Get a spyware cleaner and clean out the advertizement spys on you're computer.

Yes I know, it's very sad that advertizements must stoop to this level.

I hope some of this information helps, if this dosn't work, I don't know what to do.
 

sub

Active Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jun 18, 2003
Messages
5,960
Best answers
0
Ok, i can help a bit i guess. Download these programs, install em, and run them IN SAFE MODE

http://www.download.com/1200-2018-5139934.html
http://www.softpedia.com/get/Antivirus/TrojanHunter.shtml
http://www.download.com/Webroot-Spy-Sweeper/3000-8022_4-10373771.html
http://www.download.com/Spybot-Search-Destroy/3000-8022_4-10289035.html?tag=lst-0-1
There are some more programs, but these should do the trick.

Another thing you can do is turn off every program that starts when windows starts. To do that:

Start->run->"msconfig"->Startup -> Uncheck everything you don't recognize / want starting up when windows starts. None of these programs are needed

alright, a couple more things that'll help get your comp spyware free. Delete all temporary files (hit Start->Run->type "%temp%", hit Enter, then delete everything in the folder). Also, delete everything in the prefetch folder (C: \WINDOWS\Prefetch).

Again, do all this in safe mode.

If you want to avoid this problem happening again, you should probably pick a new broswer

http://opera.com
http://mozilla.org/products/firefox
http://netscape.com

Anyone of them would do..
 
New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2002
Messages
676
Best answers
0
Also get spyware blaster. It helps to prevent spyware/ad-ware by adding info to your host file so it can block it.
 
Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 21, 2003
Messages
3,608
Best answers
0
yahoo anti-spy is usless , your just better off using spybot s&d (search it in google , i can't remeber the url) plus , ad-aware is getting a bit compeditive , with the current version detecting spybot s&d exe as ad ware

if avg you find to be a pain in the but ,why not use kasper anti virus or anit-vir or go buy Nod32 (Nod32 is better then norton ,for all you norton junkies out there , when my m8 started using it , it found two trojans that norton never found)

if this happens each time you use ie , just go get fire fox (www.mozillia.org) did u bother to get service pack 2 ? ads with ie like this where it just keeps popping up is a sign that some1 has put spy/ad ware on your com ,or if u use a freebie version of something , it's ment to do this (usally gain advertising crap) this can be removed from ie , but ie is a waste of time , but if uwant to continue to use ie ,then just go look for help in microbastards knowlege base

i think spyware blaster is as usless as spy ware doctor , even thou i haven't been bothered to use it
 
New Member
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
3,397
Best answers
0
sephirothnight said:
if i were you i would head over to google, and search for spyware doctor, great program, it should help you :)
Spyware Doctor was found as a spyware, as it said in the PC articles. -_-
 
Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 21, 2003
Messages
3,608
Best answers
0
and it's got no peasie buy any magazine and u have to pay for it ,plus spybot does a much better job then this hunk of crap , "spybotbot Search & Destroy Keeps the Spy Doctor Away" (lol)
 
New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2002
Messages
553
Best answers
0
you should use a combination of the following, it gets everything away at my place, you can download them all at download.com:
- Spybot Search and Destroy (great because its free but does not find everything always....)
- Adaware (the free version is quite good and gets a lot of the problems out)
- Microsoft Anti-Spyware (this program is GREAT!!! imho, and although it is from Microsoft it is great and free, gets a lot of spyware automatic updates and will run in the backgruond to kill all of your spyware).
- Norton Systemworks (you have to pay for this, maybe someone knows a free version...?? but great for viruses and trojan horses and ****)

Run all of these programs first in normal mode, then in safe mode, then delete cookies and internet files and chances are that everything is away after that. Else this site might work: http://housecall.trendmicro.com/housecall/start_corp.asp but if this still does not work I only know the most drastic option to be the last one: format....

Good luck..

Run them first
 
Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Mar 30, 2011
Messages
1,355
Best answers
0
Yeah, Steam is doing this to me too.

Since it crashes my Halflife-2, I just play in Window mode =P
 
New Member
★ Black Lounger ★
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Apr 15, 2003
Messages
4,628
Best answers
0
wat the hell... i used microsoft anti spyware... now esf has uber uber lag, much worse than before >_> ive used spybot and nearly every program in this thread, its still as bad, if anyone cud help me out i'd appreciate it =\
 
New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2004
Messages
16
Best answers
0
This is starting to get pretty frustrating. I downloaded spydoctor, spybot and some other programs and they say I’m clean. Yet whenever steam gets to the loading of a server a popup always comes up. That’s the only time it seems to come up

 
Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jun 24, 2004
Messages
2,497
Best answers
0
dont forget to uninstall programs that were downloaded from spyware or adware in your software manager (in control panel) theres some spyware/adware that loads onto your system and continuously downloads more

for example "my search bar" or something else very low in memory usage or is rarely used
 

itr

Member
✔️ HL Verified
🍂 Regular
Joined
Oct 26, 2004
Messages
185
Best answers
0
Cena said:
This is starting to get pretty frustrating. I downloaded spydoctor, spybot and some other programs and they say I’m clean. Yet whenever steam gets to the loading of a server a popup always comes up. That’s the only time it seems to come up
It is because steam uses IE, and when you join a server if the MOTD is pointed to a site, it will load whatever spyware/adware you have on the computer back up and start with the pop-ups.
 
New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2004
Messages
16
Best answers
0
Can I change steam from using IE to mozilla? And if I do will that fix the problem?
 
Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 21, 2003
Messages
3,608
Best answers
0
you can remove ie using your xp cd , but a lot of download clients run of ie , so , just do a clean install of xp , and if your someone who gets bug/worms/viruses & so on a lot , after you have made a clean install somehow get your hands on a copy of norton ghost and make a image of you hdd (that's what i always do) also it may be a good idea to partition your hdd (part of it for your os , the other for your games installers apps etc

edit: microsoft's *** attempt to make it's own spyware program is failing , i'm not gonna bother with it till a full version is out , the beta is a resource hogger from what iv'e read (ofcourse it will depend on what pc specs you have to)
 

itr

Member
✔️ HL Verified
🍂 Regular
Joined
Oct 26, 2004
Messages
185
Best answers
0
SAIYAN_OVERLORD said:
you can remove ie using your xp cd ,
IE is attached to the windows operating system, so removing it would mean reformatting it then anyways. Hopefully though, IE 7.0 won't be so attached.
 
New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2004
Messages
232
Best answers
0
hey, i had problems with spyware/adware and i searched the web and i stumbled upon this forum : http://www.geekstogo.com/forum/forums.html

go there and ofcourse read the stickies before posting, so that you'll know what to post when you want people to help you. I used them and i have been free of spyware/adware for a good while now... contradicting a guy on this forum saying that i will always be infected no matter what... but these guys at Geeks To Go! are awesome
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top