1st brushing attempt

Best answers
Nothing new to you guys but what can i say, im a newbie. I heard of brushing long ago but paid no attention to it as i havent really touched a graphics prog in a while.

my first attempt using about 5 of the 40+ brushes i made the last few days.

Should i keep it up or should i let it go?

Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
Not bad, but your brushes around the outside need more tone. Good attempt though.

Best answers
Metalburn said:
Not bad, but your brushes around the outside need more tone. Good attempt though.
thx, but im not exactly sure what you mean by tone, could you plz explain?

💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
its not bad. if you feathered those dense grey area it would be alot nicer.

✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
ZeroNightmare said:
its not bad. if you feathered those dense grey area it would be alot nicer.
I don' t think gimp has that option. o_O

Nice dude, I haven't seen much gimp work but eh it needs color. :eek:

💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
oh, i didnt read, i just looked at the pic.

if it cant, just use the eraser and tweak the opacity.

Best answers
Dj^Swift said:
I don' t think gimp has that option. o_O

Nice dude, I haven't seen much gimp work but eh it needs color. :eek:
Ok i faded the sides and the top a bit if that's what was meant by tone, and yea gimp has feather. version im using is right up there with ps7, however because the image was already flattened(never saved xcf<-psd equivalent) I just used the eraser.

Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
the gimp interests me.. ive installed it aswell and messed around with it, didnt make anything serious with it. you state that gimp is better than photoshop.. well hows that? i mean, im pretty sure it can do what photoshop can, and all the same the other way around.
so what is that factor that would make gimp "better" than photoshop?