Starting Guitar Lessons soon (again)

Force Pit Member
Best answers
So I've been playing various instruments on and off for a little over 3 years now. And, well, to make a long story short, guitar has always been something I really want to get into, but either didn't have the time to do, or was busy with other instruments at the time (currently piano and violin). Anyway, with school, and work, and WoW (shut up), i have been able to manage my time really well.

I'm not entirely sure if I want to start paid lessons yet, I may just practice a bit on my own for a while and get the hang of a few things on my own before I take lessons (pretty much what I did with Piano).

Anyway, here's the thing, right now the guitar's I play on is a ****ty acoustic that I absolutely hate, and a crappy 10 year old fender stratocaster which could very well pass for a stick with strings on it. My step father has around 7 guitars but he refuses to let me use them. So I am looking into buying a guitar. I'm looking for something, if possible, no more than 500 USD. I'd like something easy to play as well. I know next to nothing about guitars so some explaination would definitely help

Here are 2 guitars I'm currently looking into for 2 reasons: one, it's in my price range, two they're on sale...

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Ibanez-RG5EX1-Electric-Guitar-103574026-i1167870.gc

Here is the first guitar I'm looking into, it's 350 which doesn't seem too bad, and it has some decent reviews.

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Dean-Dimebag--Shadow-ML-electric-guitar-104392832-i1323523.gc

Here's another one I'm looking into because, once again, it's in my price range.

If anyone knows of something they think is better for a better price, by all means. I only picked these because they're simply advertised on the website and on sale.