map size

Proud owner of Half-Life
Joined
Aug 30, 2010
Messages
261
Best answers
0
Is it possible to limit the map size/boundries in Esf Final before creating a server?

Id like to know if it was an easy thing to set up or not?

Would it also be beneficial to people with low end pcs who do not have the ram power, gpu or processing speed to generate that much terrain and still play at a decent fps?


If i wanted to play with just a friend i would consider the option of a smaller area rather than having a huge ocean of a map which in my opinion would be a bit of an overkill on my rig? (my specs would handle it regardless)
 
Freelance Mappzor
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
17,065
Best answers
0
Not possible. The map has to be made like that. What you can do is edit the farplane console command, so that theoutside area gets cut off.
 
Super Cool Wicked Guy
Staff Member
Joined
May 27, 2006
Messages
478
Best answers
0
That doesn't help much Grega...most stuff is still processed by the GPU.
 
Freelance Mappzor
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
17,065
Best answers
0
Even if its not displayed?
 
Super Cool Wicked Guy
Staff Member
Joined
May 27, 2006
Messages
478
Best answers
0
Yep even then. Some Triangles might get culled in NDC(normal device Coordinates) but until then, they still have to be read from vram, transformed and everything. So you save some pixel calculations but until a triangle is formed and rasterized all the processing is still done. That's also the reason why games use culling. Even when a tree is behind you. The vertices and such still have to be processed.
 
Proud owner of Half-Life
Joined
Aug 30, 2010
Messages
261
Best answers
0
ah well, thanks for explaining anyway :).

so are all the maps roughly the same size? or do you have a variety of sizes?
 
Banned
Banned
Joined
Dec 29, 2014
Messages
253
Best answers
0
maybe fans will create custom smaller maps that look similar to the original ones

edit:

also, esf 1.3 obf and 1.2.3 maps will work with esf final??
 
Freelance Mappzor
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
17,065
Best answers
0
maybe fans will create custom smaller maps that look similar to the original ones

edit:

also, esf 1.3 obf and 1.2.3 maps will work with esf final??
No they will not work, and while the maps are different sizes, dont expect anything as small as Cell_games in 1.2.3
 
Super Cool Wicked Guy
Staff Member
Joined
May 27, 2006
Messages
478
Best answers
0
Rosat is a pretty low demanding map. And there is always esf_island_test :D
 
New Member
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
13
Best answers
0
nothing is impossible...

I say so. I transform the "ESF 1.2.3"

[video=youtube;xu8DgQjw31U]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xu8DgQjw31U[/video]

[video=youtube;alLKQ3jtbAs]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=alLKQ3jtbAs[/video]

[video=youtube;g0Fb7605Dz0]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g0Fb7605Dz0[/video]

limit? maximum size of a map?
... "You can only exceed the limit map visually .... but you can not fly to the end."
I do not think so.









 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top