Yea ive created something!

New Member
Joined
May 7, 2006
Messages
444
Best answers
0
I know its not much of what i did but a while back MC and Donnie and a whole bunch of other mappers tried helping and im back. NOw i only need your help with some stuff but also i need to figure out how to take photos of my work. I remeber MC telling me how but i forgot. PLease help me.
 

MC

New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
3,989
Best answers
0
Basslover722 said:
I know its not much of what i did but a while back MC and Donnie and a whole bunch of other mappers tried helping and im back. NOw i only need your help with some stuff but also i need to figure out how to take photos of my work. I remeber MC telling me how but i forgot. PLease help me.
You can either use FRAPS or you can use the "prt scr" button. When you use the "prt scr" button, you need to go into Paint and go to "edit", then click on "paste". Then you need to save it as a ".jpg" file and upload it to an image hosting site like http://www.imageshack.us
 
New Member
Joined
May 7, 2006
Messages
444
Best answers
0
I have a few questions. Since im new at mapping im not so sure at how to do clippings or making edges for land masses and stuff. als water confuses me but in my new map is it ok that i had 2 sensu bean spawn point? IM going to edit this in a minute with some pictures. Its not much but its a training room for noobs. :p

Edit: AAHHHHH my map is was trying to save it and when i got to my desktop as a save point it said sorry we hammer has to shut down. So my work is gone

Edit again: re-did my map its not as good as it would have been. Please be honest but go easy on the harsh crits it is my first map. :)

<img src="http://img342.imageshack.us/img342/1140/myfirstmapxy7.png" alt="Image Hosted by ImageShack.us" />

<img src="http://img342.imageshack.us/img342/9592/myfirstmap2uf4.png" alt="Image Hosted by ImageShack.us" />
 
Freelance Mappzor
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
17,065
Best answers
0
Well it looks like a room with boxes >.<

You should use the sky texture. And also you should make some texture variations. So that the whole map isnt the same texture >.<

Anyhow it looks kinda small. How big is it?
 
Active Member
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Mar 13, 2005
Messages
3,877
Best answers
0
Kinda reminds me of that one map for Half-life 1.
 
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2005
Messages
475
Best answers
0
So far, you've got nothing... Well, nothing original or interesting, anyway...
 
Old School
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 18, 2002
Messages
4,034
Best answers
0
Yeah Im sure thats not helping any. Obviously he isnt the most experienced at this, so cut him some slack. :S
 
The Viking
🚂 Steam Linked
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Sep 29, 2002
Messages
4,803
Best answers
0
Sandstorm said:
So far, you've got nothing... Well, nothing original or interesting, anyway...
If you have something more along that line, we should have a private conversation. I'll leave it at this.




That's not too bad, basslover. Try to create some more advanced brushes now. Like cylinders and spikes and such. Just play around with it, and you'll get the hang of it soon.
 
New Member
Joined
May 7, 2006
Messages
444
Best answers
0
Thanks guys thats real nice of course the original i was working on was way better and that was just a few mintues work you'll see some more. I just need to figure out how to kinda umm don't know what to call it........Land formations yea! I'll get better and

@Sandstorm: i said cut me some slack its my first. >:O

@Grega: im not sure but if the size of the green box is the size of the characters its quite roomy.

@Coldsteel: umm well like when i look in my textures i have no sky box textures. What should i do? Thanx

edit: new pictures i took coldsteels advice and messed around with some of the blocks. whoops ran out of time i'll post pics tommorrow. :(
 
Freelance Mappzor
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
17,065
Best answers
0
Its simple. The sky texture is included in the hl.wad or the ZHLT.wad

I asked DJ long ago to put it into the original esf.wad aswell but meh >.<

In any case its just a texture with the name sky. Its read as the sky rexture and replaced with the picture of the enviroment.

If you want i have it in my esf.wad and i can send it to you through MSN. Just contact me.
 
Member
✔️ HL Verified
🎈 Advanced
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
379
Best answers
0
just a question, is it posible/ is it already done, that you can enlarge the mapsize? i think the current mapsize is too small for esf.
 
Freelance Mappzor
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
17,065
Best answers
0
The biggest possible map size for ESF would be arival. And my upcumming map.

They both use max HL space. Bigger than that cant be handled by the engine.
It also wont compile. But most maps already use up full space. It just diesnt seem that way due to terrain ;)
 
Member
✔️ HL Verified
🎈 Advanced
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
379
Best answers
0
can't Hammer handle larger maps, or is there a limit in the engine ? because i could look if i can change that limit (little hope on that).
 
Freelance Mappzor
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
17,065
Best answers
0
Hammer has a set limit. That limit is also the engine and compiling tools limit.
 
Member
✔️ HL Verified
🎈 Advanced
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
379
Best answers
0
so if it's possible to change the engine's limit, it could work ?
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
1,547
Best answers
0
well map looks ok, reminds me of my first map...the memories, I also remember using that texture for the background, what a coinsidence(spelling?), just play around with all the tools you can use, like CS said.

After you've fimiliarised yourself withj hammer and a few things, then try and read these tutorials, they can be extremely useful:
http://esf-world.com/index.php?c=mappingtut

Well all I can say is good luck and keep trying! ^^
 
Freelance Mappzor
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
17,065
Best answers
0
dutchmeat said:
so if it's possible to change the engine's limit, it could work ?
Youll need the source of the engine for that. But the HL source code was never relčeased. So you cant do taht even if you wanted. Besides youd need to modify the hammer code aswell. Since it has the safety limit of the game itself ^^
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
1,547
Best answers
0
but it's pointless making map size bigger, it will maybe need more brushes which will result in more r_speeds which can lead to lag, unless there can be some draw distance coded into hl so that you can only see a limited space and beyond that the stuff don't get rendered, like gta for example.
 
New Member
Joined
May 7, 2006
Messages
444
Best answers
0
Yea my problem is i might have the sky texture or not but how do you add more textures into your texture box thingy. Thats the thing i need and also if a file has .wad that means its has textures in it right? well anyways i fixed my map a little and um sandstorm im thinking of a name.........maybe esf_training room? I don't know if i'll release this it needs a lot of work and also it doesn't need a skybox does it cause i was going for the whole trapped in a room feeling.

Edit: Imageshack is being ***. Can't get any photos up. Grr.

Edit: Finally a new pic. <a href="http://img56.imageshack.us/my.php?image=comparisontowhinersfm2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://img56.imageshack.us/img56/6697/comparisontowhinersfm2.th.jpg" border="0" alt="Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us" /></a>

Ohh yea Donnie can i join your clan it looks uber awsome. :D IM pretty good fighter! Yahhhh!

Edit Again: Yea don't have pic of it but i replaced the water in the tower at top with cool lava all thanks to Donnies .wad he made in his Volcano map!

<a href="http://img233.imageshack.us/my.php?image=myfirstmap5fp3.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/3446/myfirstmap5fp3.th.jpg" border="0" alt="Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us" /></a>
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top