Whats your connection speed and provider?

Stupidest Saying

  • Woot Woot

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • That suX0r5

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • All your base belong to us

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • There all Cool

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • There all Gay

    Votes: 0 0.0%

  • Total voters
    0
  • Poll closed .
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
1,626
Best answers
0


My latency are lower than yours! :p

But I'm pissed that I'm below average for my ISP, and at less than half the average for Alberta.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
1,172
Best answers
0


And from the other side of the count

 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 15, 2001
Messages
1,009
Best answers
0
Comcast with a 6 meg connection. My upload is at 157kb though ><;
 
New Member
Joined
May 30, 2003
Messages
842
Best answers
0


Using Charter 3meg (worst ISP ever). What I don't understand about speedtest is that I always get results way, way higher than what I ever actually download at. The only time I ever, ever get 4646kb/s (or 580 kbytes/sec) is on Newsbin. I can't even break 300 on Fileplanet, or Download.com. And my upload is no where near 60 kbytes/sec. It's capped at 30.
 
Cunning as Zeus
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
✔️ HL Verified
Joined
Nov 23, 2003
Messages
6,079
Best answers
0
Road Runner: Whatever the standard package is; I was going to get the "premium version", but customer service was being a pain in the ass):

 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
✔️ HL Verified
Joined
Nov 14, 2003
Messages
3,974
Best answers
0


pipex homecall...

thing is, i think they use some form of port triggering at their end, because during the day here, i get these speeds, but at night i get double.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
1,626
Best answers
0
thing is, i think they use some form of port triggering at their end, because during the day here, i get these speeds, but at night i get double.
Could it have anything to do with usage? Maybe fewer people are using their internet at night, so there's more for you. Less stuff clogging the tubes, that is.

And my ping is still the win.

I'm curious how much you guys are all paying for your internets? I think mine is $30 CAD or so.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
1,285
Best answers
0


Damn ping -.-

My Real speed is 10/1 mb from Sw television.
 
Mr. Preacher
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 7, 2002
Messages
1,344
Best answers
0


farther away


I live about an hour away from Toronto, so not bad I guess.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jun 8, 2004
Messages
5,216
Best answers
0
8mb, BT Broadband. However two out of the four people on the network were using the internet when I ran the test.

 

Mog

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2002
Messages
541
Best answers
0
meh, pretty lame for 1 meg... but usually I can get the full 1024 kbps download.
Latency is pretty good though; better than Ravendust's 8 meg on this attempt, and I'm further away. :)

1 meg is the highest I can get in my road (it was 512k until recently)...
That's probably because I live at the furthest point in the village from the exchange (about 4 miles away I think). :(
It's also a private road, so there are some houses that wouldn't let us dig up the road to put cable in... :\

I get loads of connection problems due to stupid, annoying, seemingly unstopable noise on my line.
The noise makes it pretty impossible to stay connected to the Internet...

 
Active Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 18, 2002
Messages
4,201
Best answers
0


downloading heavy stuff right now.... so...
 
Active Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 6, 2005
Messages
1,037
Best answers
0

There was no server closer to me >.<

Actually 16 Mbit, but the package was too small for it to reach maximum speed. My upload varies from 650- something over 1000 kbit.

edit: I lol'd at that:
 
Super Moderator
💻 Oldtimer
Discord Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Messages
3,125
Best answers
0
<a href="http://www.speedtest.net"><img src="http://www.speedtest.net/result/106541802.png"></a>

Crappy upload D:
 
New Member
✔️ HL Verified
Joined
Jan 7, 2003
Messages
344
Best answers
0


I'm sitting outside bludging off wireless atm (Its legal in Australia if its an open network!!!)
But I'm on ADSL with netspace 512k/128k 15gb on peak 15gb off peak for 59 bucks a month.
And I'm about 750km's drive from Adelaide, 250km's over sea, But I know that My ISP re-routes it to whyalla, Then Port Augusta, Port Pirie, Then Adelaide.
 
New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
103
Best answers
0


lol, big nombers :shocked: .

edit:
lol, Evolva Telecom s.r.l. iz ranked fourth in the top 5 ISPs chart. Damn :cool:
And Romania is ranked fifth in the top 5 Countries chart.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top