Weird fps problem on my map.

Better Explosions or not?

  • Sure

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • wat r u smokin?

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I want cheese!!!

    Votes: 0 0.0%

  • Total voters
    0
New Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
80
Best answers
0
Well hello, I'm making a huge map for an ESF event here; I set up my compiler following this site: http://members.fortunecity.com/1wayout/

I just made the ground and the sky yet, but I'm having the following problem:

When I compile the map with Hammer (F9) and the game autostarts, my fps don't fall out of 100... Even when I go to the corner to see the whole map (all that green land heh). But, when I run the map from ESF, my FPS keeps on 30 x.X, how can I fix it?

Thank you for reading.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
1,285
Best answers
0
i think it's because of the map, make it smaller and you get more fps.
 
Freelance Mappzor
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
17,065
Best answers
0
Well hello, I'm making a huge map for an ESF event here; I set up my compiler following this site: http://members.fortunecity.com/1wayout/

I just made the ground and the sky yet, but I'm having the following problem:

When I compile the map with Hammer (F9) and the game autostarts, my fps don't fall out of 100... Even when I go to the corner to see the whole map (all that green land heh). But, when I run the map from ESF, my FPS keeps on 30 x.X, how can I fix it?

Thank you for reading.
I strongly advise you not to use hammer for compiling. I recommend using ZHLT along with the ZHLT compiling GUI or with Nem's Batch compiler.

As for the map itself can you post a picture from hammer and from ingame using the "r_speeds 1" command?
 
New Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
80
Best answers
0
Thanks for the attention guys, I was able to fix the fps thing resizing the textures like 20 times btw. But I still want to know why it works better starting the map from hammer eheh...

Grega, I'm kind of new at this so I don't know if you are talking about those screenies, anyway, here they are:

My hammer enviroment: http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/6674/hammerla7.jpg
The numbers after typing r_speeds 1 at the console: http://img172.imageshack.us/img172/235/rspeedsmd2.jpg

Thanks again.

Ps: Grega, do you map for esf alot so? I need some pro on that to make a map for me and my esf community, would you like to do that? What's ur price? Eheh... Ty man.
 

MC

New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
3,989
Best answers
0
Thanks for the attention guys, I was able to fix the fps thing resizing the textures like 20 times btw. But I still want to know why it works better starting the map from hammer eheh...

Grega, I'm kind of new at this so I don't know if you are talking about those screenies, anyway, here they are:

My hammer enviroment: http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/6674/hammerla7.jpg
The numbers after typing r_speeds 1 at the console: http://img172.imageshack.us/img172/235/rspeedsmd2.jpg

Thanks again.

Ps: Grega, do you map for esf alot so? I need some pro on that to make a map for me and my esf community, would you like to do that? What's ur price? Eheh... Ty man.
The tools that come with VALVe Hammer are terrible and are limited to what you can modify. Using Zoner's Half-Life Tools in combination with a batch compiler can help change certain parameters that will make you map more efficient/professional.

You should try making your own terrain instead of using a terrain generator. It takes time to learn how to do that, but in the end, it's worth it.
 
Freelance Mappzor
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
17,065
Best answers
0
Thanks for the attention guys, I was able to fix the fps thing resizing the textures like 20 times btw. But I still want to know why it works better starting the map from hammer eheh...

Grega, I'm kind of new at this so I don't know if you are talking about those screenies, anyway, here they are:

My hammer enviroment: http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/6674/hammerla7.jpg
The numbers after typing r_speeds 1 at the console: http://img172.imageshack.us/img172/235/rspeedsmd2.jpg

Thanks again.

Ps: Grega, do you map for esf alot so? I need some pro on that to make a map for me and my esf community, would you like to do that? What's ur price? Eheh... Ty man.
Well from the r_speeds i see that the numbers shouldnt cause lag so that puzzles me. Allthough i do remember a bug that ESF 1.2 had. It lagged your game and made tons of screenshots ^^

As for mapping. Yea i map quite a bit. I scrap the most projects though. But at the moment i cant map cause my PC is broke ^^
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 15, 2002
Messages
2,675
Best answers
0
dont do a "fast" compile.. also u should download batch compiler and Zoner's tools

http://nemesis.thewavelength.net/files/files/batchcompiler312.exe

then set it up

http://img76.imageshack.us/img76/5613/zcom14sk.jpg
http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/4500/zcom20pz.jpg
http://img76.imageshack.us/img76/5984/zcom35gb.jpg
http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/689/zcom41yh.jpg

zoner's tools
http://downloads.ammahls.com/zhlt/x86/zhlt34x86final.zip

don't forget at the top under specifications and options you have to set where the zoner's tools you've downloaded are for hlcsg, hlbsp, hlrad, and hlvis
 
New Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
80
Best answers
0
Alright, thank you very much, I'll compile that way next time. ;)

And Grega, please let us know when you are able to map again!

Bai bai guys!
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top