Want lagless water? all mappers read

New Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2002
Messages
27
Best answers
0
Alright ever notice how when you create a map with lots of water you get a nice drop in framerate and some increase in ping? well its because the waves are being rendered constantly, and they are rendered everywhere on the map, now do you want a solution?

ok download wally, search for it on google

now load up your wad that includes water textures and all that good stuff, now notice that all of the water textures have a ! behind the texture name? well edit the texture name and remove that ! and now when you create water for your map, there will be no waves and therefore, water will not be constantly rendered and will be a big waveless pool or whatever

well now theres a bugfix i have, when you go underneath this lagless water you can see past the surface of the water and enemies above water cant see you, well heres a fix, make an identical copy of the water area and shrink its height and stick it right underneath the water surface and make it a func_illusionary

and make sure that body of water is a func_water :)

have fun creating smoother maps

I hope the maker(s) of the esf maps with plenty of water in them take this suggestion into mind for future beta's

and heres a side note, decreases compile time

-Guerilla
 
ESF Head Team Mapper
👑 Administrator
🌠 Staff
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
Joined
Dec 25, 2001
Messages
3,612
Best answers
0
i´ve already known that, but .. oh well .. nice tutorial ^_^
 
New Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2001
Messages
655
Best answers
0
Problem I would do that to to increase FPS but...
There is a slight problem you see maps for HL will only compile with less than 60,000 patches...Func_water just adds crap loads of patches. so can't do it. As for the func_illusion the powerup sprite is that of dust instead of water so we can't use that just because of looks.
 
Retired
Joined
Nov 27, 2001
Messages
151
Best answers
0
Been thier done that. the real problem with that is when powering up it checks to see if you are above water or land. weather its an func_water or a !water, putting any non-water brush on top will mess up the pwr-up fx. i have a few other ideas on how to fix. but i give you props for thinking of it. most people would not have.

edit: doh helps when i read strykers post too :). note to self wait till i am fully awake b4 posting
 
Live free or die by the sword
Retired Forum Staff
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Messages
7,416
Best answers
0
You spam monkeys :p
 
New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2002
Messages
466
Best answers
0
Originally posted by [ESF]zero
Been thier done that. the real problem with that is when powering up it checks to see if you are above water or land. weather its an func_water or a !water, putting any non-water brush on top will mess up the pwr-up fx. i have a few other ideas on how to fix. but i give you props for thinking of it. most people would not have.

edit: doh helps when i read strykers post too :). note to self wait till i am fully awake b4 posting
so what you are saying is that if you have eather a !water textures or a func_water it will be a water effect...like if you have a just a ordonary block with no enititys ties to it but have teh texture of !water it will have a water effect?
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top