Vista as first OS + installing older OS = very bad

Base belongs to me.
Staff Member
🔮 Zenkai Booster
Proud owner of HL
💎Légéñdārý
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
Messages
10,772
Best answers
0
I attempted to install XP as my second OS.. What did it do? Raped both windows and boot manager.. Looked on the internet that doing such thing breaks both Operation Systems.. Nice job Microsoft for doing this... -_-, anyone else had this before?
 
Live free or die by the sword
Retired Forum Staff
Proud owner of HL
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Messages
7,416
Best answers
0
Just as a point of order Sky, always install the older OSes first.
 
Now with Kung-Fu action!
Proud owner of HL
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 13, 2004
Messages
1,761
Best answers
0
I went from XP with a Vista Update disk. Vista is designed to work with XP, not the other way around. DiebytheSword is right, old first, new second. That's why adults have babies.
 
Base belongs to me.
Staff Member
🔮 Zenkai Booster
Proud owner of HL
💎Légéñdārý
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
Messages
10,772
Best answers
0
Just as a point of order Sky, always install the older OSes first.
I know that, but I never knew it would actually break if I'd install XP after installing Vista.. I know now it overwrites the boot files of Vista.. Which I find stupid honestly. Microsoft should know about this problem and should fix it. Lucky, the bootrec file on the vista DVD fixed my problem, so I can access my Vista again.
 
ESF Coder
Staff Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2004
Messages
585
Best answers
0
just one question
why vista?
just because it "looks good"?
 
Base belongs to me.
Staff Member
🔮 Zenkai Booster
Proud owner of HL
💎Légéñdārý
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
Messages
10,772
Best answers
0
Active Member
Proud owner of HL
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Sep 23, 2002
Messages
1,877
Best answers
0
Funny, blaming microsoft for your own lack of knowlage on the subject.
I've been in similiar situations, and just removing the MBR, and re-adding it did the job.

if that didn't work, I could of used "fixboot" from the recovery CD. ( the name says it all really )

just one question
why vista?
just because it "looks good"?
cause it works?
 
Base belongs to me.
Staff Member
🔮 Zenkai Booster
Proud owner of HL
💎Légéñdārý
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
Messages
10,772
Best answers
0
Funny, blaming microsoft for your own lack of knowlage on the subject.
I've been in similiar situations, and just removing the MBR, and re-adding it did the job.

if that didn't work, I could of used "fixboot" from the recovery CD. ( the name says it all really )



cause it works?
That may be true Prozac, it is me to blame of course. Even though, Microsoft could have easily fixed the problem as well, including through the setup phrase.. Even the "boot fix" through the setup didn't do the trick. It is their software after all.. But then again, XP is their "old" version, so I highly doubt they are even wanting to support it for Vista.
 
Force Pit Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
994
Best answers
0
It was said that Microsoft forcing laptop companies to sell their laptops with Vista so it will better their profits, as well as I heard they started stop making XP for sale, or getting close to. They surely want to get rid of XP, even though Vista is bugged, ain't it?
 
Active Member
Proud owner of HL
★ Black Lounger ★
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jul 14, 2002
Messages
6,874
Best answers
0
I have Vista, and even though I want XP with Vista, I'm not going to install it. Either way, just wait for some day, where vista will improve.
 
Active Member
Proud owner of HL
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
3,055
Best answers
0
They're getting rid of XP to focus all of their attention on Vista. I think it's both a good and bad thing.
 
New Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2004
Messages
652
Best answers
0
Will I run into the same problem if i delete the partition that vista is installed on, and reformat the hard drive? Because i really dont like vista and i want XP back =/
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Apr 14, 2005
Messages
4,022
Best answers
0
If you format it, it'll be cleared, and you can just install XP to it, no worries.
 
Active Member
Proud owner of HL
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
3,055
Best answers
0
Probably not.

Edit: Shiyo beat me.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
1,626
Best answers
0
If you've killed your boot files, go get yourself Super GRUB. It can fix these things in a flash. It saved me when I killed the laptop at work fiddling around trying to install Ubuntu onto my MP3 player...
 
New Member
★ Black Lounger ★
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Apr 23, 2003
Messages
3,913
Best answers
0
i like everything about vista but the slowdown on SOME games, it plays everything decent at least up to the HL2 era even on high settings, (which isnt bad for a 350$ computer).

but ill need to upgrade some **** before i wanna play anything better, AND vista (still onboard video >_>)
 
New Member
Proud owner of HL
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
221
Best answers
0
I say, just backup everything you can that you need, and just re-format the whole hard-drive. Then install XP, and then Vista.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top