URGENT: Virus warning

New Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2003
Messages
2
Best answers
0
Two of my friends had this. Heres how you know if you have it:

After using IE, or it seems any program, A popup window will come up, saying that the Remote Protocol Procedure has failed, and windows will need to shutdown. The patch came out mid-june :rolleyes:. If you have it, before running the repair tool, deactivate windows restore as it hides itself inthere, and norton will not be able to access it.
 
Active Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 4, 2002
Messages
1,061
Best answers
0
The links above are all you should need to remove the virus. Be sure to update your dat files today because norton only updated there dat files as of this morning for the virus.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 7, 2002
Messages
2,275
Best answers
0
mwhahahahaa... thank the lord i got a router >_<

my pc is as open as a baby on the M1 at the moment :p
 
Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 1, 2002
Messages
2,725
Best answers
0
I had this thing happen to me a few days ago, then it didn't happen again. I installed the patch anyway, just to be safe.
Just yesterday about 4 of my friends on MSN were screaming to me "I HAVE A VIRUS!" and explained this to me. I directed them here. ^_^
 
Active Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 4, 2002
Messages
1,061
Best answers
0
It is a virus. Its technically a worm. It sends itself out on 3 ports through tcp/ip. The reason its able to do this is because of an opening in windows but thats what viruses do.
 
New Member
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
3,397
Best answers
0
Yes there is another VIRUS its a regular virus its call yama sumthing like that said in the news if u have that virus well it closed down any microsoft program there is so becarefuly what ur doing and anyways i check virus on ppl computer too and i fix them and they charge me 100 dollars a day to fix it so i have no worries becasue im typeing this in my text cell phone :p
 
New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2003
Messages
981
Best answers
0
I think my computer is packed with so many viri, worms, and trojans that no more can get in.. and the ones I do have don't have space to work ^_~

The reason I say that is because I got this worm in my computer and it started telling me i'd have 60 seconds until shutdown, then after 10 minutes it still did nothing.. then I got the patch and off it went :D
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 25, 2001
Messages
1,331
Best answers
0
Very good, this warning to spreading. Very good. BE CAREFUL ALL!!!
 
New Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2002
Messages
256
Best answers
0
jsut download the critical updates so that it doesnt happen to you and if it is happening to you just download the critical updates. for me it got so bad that it was hapening within 30 seconds of everytime i booted my computer, it restarts your computter.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Oct 2, 2002
Messages
1,043
Best answers
0
My god.

This is the -=ONE TIME=- I've been happy to have Windows ME.

PARTY ON :D
 
New Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2003
Messages
140
Best answers
0
Hitokiri said:
My god.

This is the -=ONE TIME=- I've been happy to have Windows ME.

PARTY ON :D
lol hell yea good thing i got ME also and a crapy comp with arouther but thans for warning
 
New Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2002
Messages
256
Best answers
0
I had ME for the longest time i dont know why people say its unstable it was the most stable operating system i ever had.
I use XP now though, gota move up sometime.
 
Active Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 4, 2002
Messages
1,061
Best answers
0
Me was horrible for the one simple reason that it runs on an emulator. They can say that it doesn't run on dos because it first loads an emulator, then loads dos, then loads windows. It is a horrible operating system that had a load of flaws. 98 was better....
 
New Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Messages
673
Best answers
0
ahh its on my comp, it sucks a lot! and the patch thing wont install >_<
 
New Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
Messages
10
Best answers
0
I got hit with something last night also guys, but I dont think it got into my system. Thanks for the warning, Ill check it again.
 
New Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2002
Messages
301
Best answers
0
ha finaly i reason to tell my self why not buying xp yet is a good thing.
 
New Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2002
Messages
256
Best answers
0
some people are getting the idea that this problem is some sort of virus. IT IS NOT A VIRUS!!!
It works like that messanger thing does on win xp. Exept you cant turn this one off you have to download the CRITICAL UPDATE(823980) thats the exact one you need but after you fix it make sure to get them all just in case but for now get that one cause for me it was a ***** since i could barely download one before my system restarted hopefully that will help some of you
 

Eon

TeeHee
Banned
Joined
Dec 20, 2002
Messages
5,341
Best answers
0
son of a *****...

I got pwned a few days ago.. >_<

everything is fine now though ^^
 
Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Mar 30, 2011
Messages
1,355
Best answers
0
Epedemic_Optikz said:
is unplug your cable modem and put the firewall on... after that plug the cable modem back in
Umm does that work for DSL?
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top