Upgrade vBulletin

Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 21, 2003
Messages
3,608
Best answers
0
After using some other forums for some time, I think it would be a good idea to possibly upgrade vBulletin to version 3.5.4 (or what ever the latest version may be). I could edit a post on the fly without having to wait for a new page to load up. take a look at this example below.

That's if it's not to much of a hard thing to do.
 
Live free or die by the sword
Retired Forum Staff
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Messages
7,416
Best answers
0
The only person who can upgrade vB on the server is Greg. Since I can't get him to fix the smileys, I doubt he'll be willing to upgrade the board.
 
brainfeeder
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 29, 2002
Messages
5,179
Best answers
0
If the proper preperations we're made do you think Greg would allow ESF to be hosted elsewhere?

Does he still consider us a high priority?
 
Lost in space
Banned
Joined
Oct 21, 2003
Messages
814
Best answers
0
Yeah the g0t forums have had that AJAX crap for ages...

**** even Invision Power Board has had it for ages lol
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 14, 2003
Messages
1,929
Best answers
0
Saiyan_Overlord said:
After using some other forums for some time, I think it would be a good idea to possibly upgrade vBulletin to version 3.5.4 (or what ever the latest version may be). I could edit a post on the fly without having to wait for a new page to load up. take a look at this example below.

That's if it's not to much of a hard thing to do.
Lol, I've been pestering Greg about it for a little while myself.
 
Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 21, 2003
Messages
3,608
Best answers
0
You would have to backup the database first I would imagine, and it would be pretty big by now I bet =P.
 
Lost in space
Banned
Joined
Oct 21, 2003
Messages
814
Best answers
0
Saiyan_Overlord said:
You would have to backup the database first I would imagine, and it would be pretty big by now I bet =P.
You don't, but it's recommended...

Database backups should be automatic (cronjob + shell script to FTP it to another server) anyways
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top