Ubuntu help

✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
So... I'm too lazy to register on the original Ubuntu forums. Since the new Ubuntu 7.10 is going to take like... 3 days to download... I decided to just install Breezy and just upgrade up by version but I'm already having problems.

When I switch to my screen resolution to 1440X900 @ 60MZ, the screen is messed up and its not really "widescreen" , as you say it. I need on help on that.

I also need help installing the ATI driver, since i'm a big Linux noob on it. I have a 9800 Pro Atlantis, so yeah.

As you can see, i'm doing this on my computer to show my Dad how much Linux could be useful to him with his server and the old computer he uses for storage, and if I can get both of these working, I might stick with it and install Wine after I get everything fixed. :rolleyes:

[I'm a linux noob, go easy on me.]

jp

💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
http://wiki.cchtml.com/index.php/Ubuntu_Breezy_Installation_Guide

omgwtfbbq!

Worked for me! well I don't have a wide screen, after installing the drivers you should be able to get those resolutions.

But if you want to show your dad how "great and usefull linux is", then don't EVER talk about the problems you just have now, because it shows its not an easy OS for the casual computer user.

I tried to show other people how "great linux is", and when something went wrong it took me a bit longer then with windows to fix it, I fixed it, but it took longer and it involved using the console and so they were like "ohnoes, linux sux!".

It seems that every casual pc/xp user ph34rs the console <.<

Anyways, I hope this will help you out. :)

✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
It helped me, thanks! I installed Wine and I want to get Steam working under it... but I don't get what the step 3 means.

HOWTO: Installing and Running Steam

1. Install Wine 0.9.19 or newer