Spyware/Adware

New Member
Joined
May 30, 2003
Messages
842
Best answers
0
And Tassadar turns to the forum for guidance.

Anyway, I installed MSN Messanger Plus! recently, and without noticing I installed the adware alon with it, and low-and-behold, the popups fly. When visiting any site I get popups, and I have a nice little porn/search/ad-****ing-piece-of-**** toolbar on IE.
Yes, I ran Ad-Aware, Spybot. And tried removing the toolbar, and of course when I do so IE does something to that of 'refreshing' itself, and reloads the toolbar everytime I try to remove it.
Oh, I didn't mention the homepage changes did I?

By the way feel free to express your anger in Adware, tell us your experiances. Once my network drivers were disabled and some kind of program only allowed me to visit certain sites, afterwards eliminating my network drivers. Super.
And then there are the other ones with the nice endless stream of popups, you close one, and the same one opens, its fun being on a fast connection however, because all that refreshing lags and often causes a timeout on their servers.

Never, EVER install MSN Messenger Plus!!
 
Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Mar 21, 2002
Messages
1,887
Best answers
0
Just get "Spybot S & D" gets rid of your spyware problems in a lung gasp o_O
 
New Member
Joined
May 30, 2003
Messages
842
Best answers
0
As I said before, I tried Spybot and Ad-Aware, none will get rid of the ad toolbar that keeps causing pop-ups and homepage changes.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
1,495
Best answers
0
Hmmm, well I've never tried anything but those two programs ( I've found that Ad-Aware is much better than spy bot) Usually Ad-Aware finds everything for me, and deletes it, then there are times where i do it manually. Not everyone will be able to do this ( you need a clean computer. I also stress that anyone who really isn't computer literate not to try this without some sort of aid or supervision. Here's what you do, find a computer that's clean that has your current OS. I happen to have one in my basement, not everyone has one of these, but ask friends that don't have the internet ( hard to find) or if you have a spare box, do a format/reload (only if you don't want to do it to your own pc) and use that. If you have no other options just try to find any friend that has your same OS and do this. Make sure that no files or folders are hidden.

Browse through all of your folders, ask your friend, or look at your other computer and check if you have folders that aren't the same. Erase the folders that aren't the same, but [***BE WARNED***] you may delete a folder that is important so make sure you know that it isn't a vital folder. Kepp doing this until you've covered your entire drive. This usually works, you'll have deleted a lot of useless/harmful stuff on your computer.

Remember, this is risky if you don't know what you're doing. Obviously do not ask a friend to help you with this if he has the same problem as you. This doesn't always work, but it's worked for me dozens of times. If you don't want to go through this process, then all I can say is format/reload.

DO NOT TRY THIS IF YOU ARE NOT COMPUTER LITERATE.
 
Live free or die by the sword
Retired Forum Staff
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Messages
7,416
Best answers
0
Also try changing your Active X allowances in your browsers settings.
 
New Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2003
Messages
34
Best answers
0
by any chance is that toolbar in your IE called "SuperBar"? cause i had that in mine and adaware nor spybot could get rid of it i had th manually get rid of it :/.
 
New Member
Joined
May 30, 2003
Messages
842
Best answers
0
Can't exactly remember what it was called unfortunatly, but I did finally get rid of it, had to delete my MSN dir and reinstall, never got rid of it after uninstalling Plus! alone. Thanks for the suggestions though
 
New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2002
Messages
436
Best answers
0
DId you get all the updaes for Spybot? Also with some spyware they throw viruses on your PC. I had some spyware that I could not get rid of with Spybot also until I ran Mcafee and found a coduple viruses. Then Spybot was able to take care of the spyware after I removed the viruses.
 
New Member
Joined
May 30, 2003
Messages
842
Best answers
0
Yeah it was updated, I still need to grab an Anti-Virus, Norton dosn't seem to work on Windows 2003
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 30, 2001
Messages
1,299
Best answers
0
Tassadar said:
Never, EVER install MSN Messenger Plus!!
... There isn't anything wrong with MSN Messenger Plus ... :S
When installing, you get the choice to install the sponsor software or not.
It's obvious that if you install it, you'll be bugged by stuff you actually didn't want.

Try uninstalling / reinstalling MSN Messenger (Plus). Maybe that'll help
 
New Member
Joined
May 30, 2003
Messages
842
Best answers
0
Yeah, its nice that it gives you a choice to install it or not, but I wasn't paying attention and hit next :\...
 

Crazy4Christ

C
Guest
I would use AdAware over another program like spybot. What you installed was a another piece of spyware. Try going to AdAware's main site. You might even have a virus. What ever use don't use Macaffe or Norton antivirus, use Panda. It is the number one antivirus on the market.
 
New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2003
Messages
507
Best answers
0
Hmm truble with pop-ups in IE??
lol get a real browser,..

takes care of the pop-ups / auto ad-ware download **** too...
 

Crazy4Christ

C
Guest
If you guys are running Maccafe or Norton and it finds one or two viruses that means you have about 100. I have seen one person's computer when her Noton said she only had 2 viruses, Panda found about 100.
 
Mr. Preacher
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 7, 2002
Messages
1,344
Best answers
0
I had this before. Just simply download the file here http://www.spywareinfo.com/articles/cws/ and run it. CWSshredder.exe or something its called. You will also notice when your typing on the forums it takes a while for your text to appear.
 
Member
✔️ HL Verified
Joined
Nov 29, 2002
Messages
313
Best answers
0
When installing, you get the choice to install the sponsor software or not. Oh yeah, and solidus is ace, i wish he would post here...sigh...
I downloaded the beta when it first came out, and it didnt have that option...doh...
Ive had it for quite sometime now, and i still havnt got rid of that toolbar... but ill give some of these a go. cheers.
To stop the popups, theres a few files you have to delete, but i cant remember what they are, look for an odd looking file in program files.
Il ask my friend who knows what the files are and ill get back to you.
I do know an html file with a crazy name comes up everynow and again in the windows folder, something like xrtgfdfffdds, get rid of that.

*edit* OMG....its gone.... the toobar has gone.... YAYAYAYA!!! thank you all! i used cwshredder from Phobius, and the toolbar uninstall from Optimus Prime (just picked first option) just to make sure, and its gone! THANK YOU!
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top