Sims II Display Problems & Crashing

Base belongs to me.
👑 Administrator
🌠 Staff
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
💎Légéñdārý
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
Messages
10,848
Best answers
0
I've got the Sims 2, and I have the following problem (Attached 2 images)..

The first one is the city overview, it oddly enough gives me red all around the map that blinks from red, to black to red to black and so on. The second image is the crash when I attempt to get in to a house on the end of the loading session. I'm using Vista Ultimate and a Nvidia 8800GTS and the website of the sims mentioned it should work fine with Vista.
 

Attachments

ANBU
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
3,192
Best answers
0
get xp! it's better for games! :)
Ontopic now, i don't really know what to say! try a new video board driver or something!
 
Base belongs to me.
👑 Administrator
🌠 Staff
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
💎Légéñdārý
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
Messages
10,848
Best answers
0
My Vista drivers are already up-to-date.
 
ANBU
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
3,192
Best answers
0
then how are your graphics settings of the game? try not to use the game at it's max settings! that could be a problem!
 
Base belongs to me.
👑 Administrator
🌠 Staff
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
💎Légéñdārý
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
Messages
10,848
Best answers
0
lol, I always have everything on max.. Why do you think I bought this PC for? And I'm afraid I also have all the Sims 2 patches. That doesn't explain the crash problem though.
 
ANBU
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
3,192
Best answers
0
I know but it depends on what video board you have!
reinstalling is a good advice.
btw,what does it say in the second pic?
 
Base belongs to me.
👑 Administrator
🌠 Staff
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
💎Légéñdārý
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
Messages
10,848
Best answers
0
I know but it depends on what video board you have!
reinstalling is a good advice.
btw,what does it say in the second pic?
Reinstalling? For what purpose? I just installed the game. And the second image says:

The programm has crashed and will now shutdown.
 
ANBU
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
3,192
Best answers
0
well,that's pretty serious; i don't know what to say! Do you think it could be something from Vista?
 
Active Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 6, 2005
Messages
1,037
Best answers
0
What type of graphics crad do you have? Any custon drivers? Anything changed in the driver's options (be they custon or stock).
All hardware drivers up to date? That's everything I could think of now.
 
Base belongs to me.
👑 Administrator
🌠 Staff
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
💎Légéñdārý
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
Messages
10,848
Best answers
0
well,that's pretty serious; i don't know what to say! Do you think it could be something from Vista?
Not sure honestly, I know the first image is a video issue but not sure if it is related to my video card.. But I think the second image problem (crash) may have to do with vista itself..
 
Now with Kung-Fu action!
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 13, 2004
Messages
1,761
Best answers
0
Not sure honestly, I know the first image is a video issue but not sure if it is related to my video card.. But I think the second image problem (crash) may have to do with vista itself..
Can't be, I have Vista and it doesn't affect how Sims 2 works.

Apparently it is a memory issue (according to a little research i did on your error message). Try http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080224112145AAuvFBY and use http://www.ccleaner.com/ it should help.
 
New Member
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Mar 29, 2003
Messages
4,765
Best answers
0
Which drivers are you using?
 
Base belongs to me.
👑 Administrator
🌠 Staff
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
💎Légéñdārý
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
Messages
10,848
Best answers
0
Of what, NVIDIA? Official latest nvidia drivers.
 
New Member
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Mar 29, 2003
Messages
4,765
Best answers
0
Maybe you should try one of the latest beta drivers. I myself have a 8600M GT and I use the 174.31 drivers. Haven't had any problems with them so far.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
1,285
Best answers
0
Try removing your current drivers and remove all of the stuff that has gotten up to registry with Guru 3d's Driver Cleaner.

Also, if you are having 16x AA(Q) on, try putting it off entirely or just lower it a little.

One ideal thing to do would be to ask from Nvidia forums.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top