New Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
80
Best answers
0
Hey guys,
i'm testing my map,
and the fps are 15..30...
and in esf_guru is 60...

i think have a problem with the map uh?
can someone help me?

i've edited esf_city map too, but i'm not edited so much, and the fps sUx...

why?
help me please...

(i use the Hammer)
 
New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2003
Messages
12
Best answers
0
their must have been some leak in ur map,
there is some part of the map the lag is comming from
 
Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 1, 2002
Messages
2,725
Best answers
0
Generally FPS loss is a result of simply too much geometry that must be drawn to the engine.
Does it only happen when you look at a certain area?
For instance, if you made a map with many, many, buildings, then flew to the top of the map and looked at them all at once, your FPS would take a hit and drop.
When your map is running, type developer 1 (enables developer mode, if it isn't already), then type r_speeds 1.
This will cause many numbers to start appearing at the top of your screen very quickly.
It should look a little something like this.
<img src="http://www.angelfire.com/dragon/dragondude8/r_speeds.JPG">
The numbers are labeled with FPS (Frames Per Second), ms (your ping, always in Milliseconds), wpoly (World Polygons, polygons currently being drawn to the world by brushes created in Valve Hammer Editor, basically the geometry of the map), and epoly (Entity Polygons, currently being drawn as a result of entities).
As you can see, my FPS at this time is steady at about 60, and it is steady because the wpoly count is well within normal bounds.
Epoly usually isn't as much a factor as wpoly, but having very high epoly counts can also hinder FPS.
I always go by the rule of trying to keep wpoly under 600 or so at all times, though sometimes it can't be helped.
Try this. Is your wpoly count very high?
 
New Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
80
Best answers
0
i will try to do this but my fps in esf_city wich is the fps is 60, knwoing that i download a program to convert the .bsp map to .map again an then i load it from hammer to make a test, i save the map with another name and then i compile again to .bps using the hammer system, when i load the map to see my fps is 15, 10 12 30
i don't know why if i don't have change nothing in the map i just complie again using hammer , do u know why its goin on and what i have to do to correct this ?
 
Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 1, 2002
Messages
2,725
Best answers
0
Programs that decompile the .bsp to the .map format don't do so flawlessly.
There are usually places where brushes are decompiled incorrectly, and become invalid and are deleted.
If you didn't change anything, then it's probably that some brushes are missing and the level has a leak.
Does your compile log say a leak was found?
You can also tell if there is a leak by the level being fullbright, meaning there are no light sources and shadows, just light everywhere.
 
New Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2003
Messages
402
Best answers
0
Make sure u ran the HLvis, i had that problem, cuz i used a command that didnt exist(spelled it wrong) and it never showed up... until i had to go trought the compile log cuz there was another error and i saw that the HLvis wasnt running...
 
New Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
80
Best answers
0
but the fps of the map wich usually be 60 now is 30, 15 , 20 and aways drops, i don't know what to do, is my hammer with some problem ? plz help
 
New Member
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
1,185
Best answers
0
You are most likely doing a crappy improper compile. Read some tutorials on doing proper compiles.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top