Problem with ESF, or even Half-Life

Best answers
I have a weird problem with ESF. Well, I just started playing back again, and there's something weird that's going on. When I play it, I can't see my own aura. When I charge, nothing comes up. When I dash, nothing comes up. Even if I do advanced melee, (basic is fine) nothing shows up. If someone is trying to throw me, or gets me in the advanced melee arrow system, I can't see anything. The entire screen just turns black. I don't know what the problem is. The only thing that I've done with Steam, is not used it for a very long time. Oh, and it's not just ESF that's doing this. Other mods on Half-Life do the same thing. There are just certain things on every mod that just don't show up for me. Does anyone know what I need to do?

MC

💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
I have a weird problem with ESF. Well, I just started playing back again, and there's something weird that's going on. When I play it, I can't see my own aura. When I charge, nothing comes up. When I dash, nothing comes up. Even if I do advanced melee, (basic is fine) nothing shows up. If someone is trying to throw me, or gets me in the advanced melee arrow system, I can't see anything. The entire screen just turns black. I don't know what the problem is. The only thing that I've done with Steam, is not used it for a very long time. Oh, and it's not just ESF that's doing this. Other mods on Half-Life do the same thing. There are just certain things on every mod that just don't show up for me. Does anyone know what I need to do?
What "Renderer Mode" are you using?

Best answers
You tell me...I honestly don't know...Do you mind telling me where I could check what renderer I'm using? Oh also, do you think I might just need to re-download the Half-Life source engine?

💻 Oldtimer
Best answers