New HD and ESF/HL got probs W00t?

New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Apr 9, 2003
Messages
1,088
Best answers
0
hi all .
well to get straight on my problem .
i got a new HD and installed steam and esf and everything and used the same drivers as i used on my older HD
but now the funny thing is , when i start esf my music (mp 3 player) is messed up for some time and when i nimize and go back ingame or when i just started ESF the game got a lag for 1 sec after a few seconds.
Graphics card is a ATI Radeon 9800XT
512 mb DDR Ram
Realtek AC97 sound cards.

Vsync is activated and well everything worked when it was like this with the old HD and now it?s like this.

and i mean changing the HD actually doesn?t change anything oon the PC performance o_O

Help?
 
Active Member
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
3,055
Best answers
0
Graphics card is a ATI Radeon 9800CT
512 mb DDR Ram
Realtek AC97 sound cards.
and i mean changing the HD actually doesn?t change anything oon the PC performance o_O
Yes, actually, your harddrive plays a major part in your computer's performance. How do you think data is accessed? The technical specifications of the harddrive would sure help to figure out the problem.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Apr 9, 2003
Messages
1,088
Best answers
0
hm how can i cchek them ? im not so good with hardware things . well it?s a IDE 160 gig with NTFS format.
thats all i can say so far xD
 
Active Member
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
3,055
Best answers
0
Just find the online page you bought it from (if you bought it online, that is), and link me to it.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Apr 9, 2003
Messages
1,088
Best answers
0
i didnt buy it thats the prob . it was a gift from a friend since he got new ones. but meh it worked perfectly on his pc . i mean the old one was a reaaaaly old 20 gig hd since my other broke and i mean that one cant be better than my new one o_O
 
Active Member
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
3,055
Best answers
0
and i mean that one cant be better than my new one o_O
Yes, actually, it can.

Ask your friend about it. There's not a whole lot anyone can do without knowing what you're working with. And if possible (optional though) I'd like the specifications for your old hard drive.
 
Freelance Mappzor
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
17,065
Best answers
0
Also did you reinstall windows after inserting the new HD. Sometimes adding new hardware makes your PC run weird if you dont format and reinstall.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Apr 9, 2003
Messages
1,088
Best answers
0
hm its a seagate Barracuda 7200.7

my friend says it?s not out on sale anymore but meh xD ill try to find something

+edit+
problem solved .
thx anyway xD
i wont say what the problem was cause thats just embarasing xD
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top