My third map, featuring islands!

sub

Active Member
💻 Oldtimer
Discord Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2003
Messages
5,952
Best answers
0
First, please keep in mind that this is my third map, and my first two weren't very good. Moving right along, I spent the past two days or so working on this. It doesn't have a name yet and I'm not sure if I'll release it.

With water


Without Water


Still need to add cliffs to the two areas with floating land. Trees need to be added and the island terrain needs to be fleshed out a bit. Also am thinking of adding in an underwater cave area.
 
Super Saiyan Dabura
💻 Oldtimer
✔️ HL Verified
Joined
Oct 31, 2003
Messages
1,738
Best answers
0
keep it up
 

sub

Active Member
💻 Oldtimer
Discord Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2003
Messages
5,952
Best answers
0
Map is basically finished. I never bothered with adding an underwater cave, but I did finish everything else.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,315
Best answers
0
For your third map you're doing pretty great.
Keep it up :)
 
Member
✔️ HL Verified
Discord Member
Joined
May 28, 2008
Messages
203
Best answers
0
Nice man...i hope to see more.
 
New Member
✔️ HL Verified
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
34
Best answers
0
I have hope that is a very good map
 
Active Member
💻 Oldtimer
★ Black Lounger ★
✔️ HL Verified
Joined
Jul 14, 2002
Messages
6,873
Best answers
0
Like I said, looking great man! Keep it up. <3
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,315
Best answers
0
Just a question... what kind of cave and what is going to be in that cave?
 
The Prodigy
★ Black Lounger ★
✔️ HL Verified
Joined
Nov 9, 2002
Messages
676
Best answers
0
Awesome map Sub! How many hours did you put into that bad boy?
 

sub

Active Member
💻 Oldtimer
Discord Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2003
Messages
5,952
Best answers
0
Not really sure. I want to say 8 or 10 hours, but that could be way off. Going to start another one tonight which will hopefully turn out better than this one
 
Super Saiyan Dabura
💻 Oldtimer
✔️ HL Verified
Joined
Oct 31, 2003
Messages
1,738
Best answers
0
ooo tonight? make me maps, i wan map esf scouter beam cannon exploding bridges PLEASE!!!
 

sub

Active Member
💻 Oldtimer
Discord Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2003
Messages
5,952
Best answers
0
Anyone have any idea why adding water would kill my FPS? Doesn't appear to be a hardware issue (ie: my computer can't handle it), I'm pretty sure it's something I did wrong. The first time I added water my FPS was fine, I deleted it and readded it a bit later and now a huge fps drop occurs.
 
Super Saiyan Dabura
💻 Oldtimer
✔️ HL Verified
Joined
Oct 31, 2003
Messages
1,738
Best answers
0
maybe its clipping through teh sky box or you have not one brush for water brush?
 
Everyone's Favorite Weirdo :D
🌠 Staff
💻 Oldtimer
✔️ HL Verified
Joined
Dec 31, 2001
Messages
1,423
Best answers
0
Im clueless about your issue on water FPS, but I think if you put more time into your map, you could make it much much better. Like you said, a simple map with two islands, try adding a few mountains here and there, maybe a land mass on the side as if your fighting over the ocean but next to land or something.
 

sub

Active Member
💻 Oldtimer
Discord Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2003
Messages
5,952
Best answers
0
Im clueless about your issue on water FPS, but I think if you put more time into your map, you could make it much much better. Like you said, a simple map with two islands, try adding a few mountains here and there, maybe a land mass on the side as if your fighting over the ocean but next to land or something.
Thanks for the advice/ideas. Next map I'll definitely put more time into, but I think I'm done with this one seeing as how I can't seem to figure out how to fix the fps issue with water.

Final Pic - http://i.imgur.com/KCXBz.jpg
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,315
Best answers
0
That's awesome! Though, I don't like that hill at the far end of the map. About the fps drop, you might have some brush in the sky box or have some other brushes into other brushes... I get low FPS a lot when I put a brush in another brush >.<
 
Freelance Mappzor
💻 Oldtimer
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
Discord Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
17,065
Best answers
0
Its the water texture. The game is animating it.

Replace the texture with a monotone one and scale it up. ATM all you can do to get better FPS would be to scale up the water texture to 4 or something.

Also is it just me or do i see a ****load of brushes just abbove the text on the left, on the cliff sticking out of the watter.
 

sub

Active Member
💻 Oldtimer
Discord Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2003
Messages
5,952
Best answers
0
Hmm, thanks I'll try that.

Also, where do you see a ****load of brushes? I didn't use very many brushes at all. The r_speed is like 600-800 max. I think it's the texture making it look like there are more brushes then there are.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top