Linux

✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
Ok. I decided I want to try out Linux. I have never even used it let alone know where to get it.

I am currently using Vista Ultimate and I wanna try and Dual run Linux and Vista.

Any got a chance to help me?

★ Black Lounger ★
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
I'm not a Linux expert, but as a beginner, I suggest trying out Ubuntu (FYI, Ubuntu is a modified version of Debian.). I used it when I was using Linux and I loved it. The installation is super easy, and I highly recommend it. There are plenty of helpful stickies and members on the forums, so you should have no problems.

sub

💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
Just a small tip, try it out on a computer that's not your everyday one just to make sure you like it. I'm under the impression a lot of things will require a lot of tinkering to work / some things will downright be incompatible.

I've never used linux, though, so I can't offer much help other than that. Best of luck.

✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
Thanks Man.

Been wanting to try Linux and Ubuntu.

★ Black Lounger ★
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
Yeah, do what Sub said. If you have more than one computer, do it on an alternate one, not on your main one. Unless you're a super expert at Linux, keep using it on your alternate PC.

G
Thanks Man.

Been wanting to try Linux and Ubuntu.
Just want to clear this up, you realise Ubuntu *is* Linux, right?

I want to fuxx around with Linux but I don't have any spare computers to do so with. When I get the chance though, I'm trying out Paranoid Linux.

ESF Coder
🌠 Staff
Best answers
Just want to clear this up, you realise Ubuntu *is* Linux, right?

I want to fuxx around with Linux but I don't have any spare computers to do so with. When I get the chance though, I'm trying out Paranoid Linux.
why dont you just use vmware, or virtualbox, ...?

G
I have, for experimenting, testing. But I want to try it on a real rig, for obvious reasons.

✔️ HL Verified