Internet 2? Your joking, right?...

New Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2003
Messages
358
Best answers
0
www.internet2.org

Yeah, so it seems they have faster stuff than we have at some universitys now. www.internet2.org shows how they have all this nifty high tech fiberoptic stuff and gets 10 gigs per second if I read correctly.. I don't think it will be a public thing, though, my friend tells me some kids were getting in trouble for downloading movies in like 2 seconds. Thats pretty funny...

Discuss
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
3,999
Best answers
0
Technology is a wonderful thing.
 
New Member
Retired Forum Staff
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Apr 7, 2003
Messages
1,478
Best answers
0
The Internet2 network isn't a new thing. My University (George mason) helped found it as I recall.
 
brainfeeder
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 29, 2002
Messages
5,179
Best answers
0
When they get rid of lag... I will rejoice!
 
Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 21, 2003
Messages
3,608
Best answers
0
everything is getting the number 2 these days , adsl2 is slowly being rolled out here in aus. If i recall wasn't this also given the name of grid net ?
 
Lost in space
Banned
Joined
Oct 21, 2003
Messages
814
Best answers
0
ADSL2 has nothing to do with internet2-.-

And fiber > copper always-.-
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jun 8, 2004
Messages
5,216
Best answers
0
My school has a 100mbps network and an 18mbps internet connection, but 10gbps?? That would be so sweet if it got off the ground, for both networks and internet. Although at 10gbps there wouldn't be a lot of difference between the two.
 
Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 21, 2003
Messages
3,608
Best answers
0
yep then this is the so called grid net i heard of ages ago

@Kurt - Well , adsl2 was actually delveloped buy some uni

hong kong and courea have faster interenet and better plans then most of the world atm , they just got 1gpbs net (for commercial use to i think)
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 14, 2003
Messages
1,659
Best answers
0
kurt, fibre isnt greater than copper, OPTICS are better, since optics work around the transfer of light, rather than elictricical signal, its not difficult to imagine that it would be faster.

i would however, like to see you send any kind of signal from 1 pc to another using fibre :p
 
Lost in space
Banned
Joined
Oct 21, 2003
Messages
814
Best answers
0
Mad_AxMan said:
i would however, like to see you send any kind of signal from 1 pc to another using fibre :p
Omg, I almost just fell out of my chair.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Apr 8, 2004
Messages
1,003
Best answers
0
That would be possible if your computer could write that fast. But I don't think it can, cuz if it could you would be able to install UT2K4 in like 5 secs or less.
 
New Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2003
Messages
358
Best answers
0
Which is funny because we all download faster than we install....

stupid computers...

smart computers...

stupid computers... gah
 
New Member
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Oct 27, 2004
Messages
2,462
Best answers
0
Mad_AxMan said:
kurt, fibre isnt greater than copper, OPTICS are better, since optics work around the transfer of light, rather than elictricical signal, its not difficult to imagine that it would be faster.
Huh..I always thought electrcity traveled at the speed of light, well, I've learned something.

I also heard my school talking about it how they will have it or they might have it already, but for educational purposes cuz this internet doesn't let you go on like personal sites and stuff.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 14, 2003
Messages
1,659
Best answers
0
no, the speed of electricity is limited by the resistance of the material it is passing through.
 
Death from Above
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 25, 2001
Messages
4,942
Best answers
0
Hahaha

OMGZ NOT TEH FIBRE

Fibre + Optics = Fibreoptics

OMGZ Fibre = Short version of Fibreoptics.

Electricity does go at the speed of light and if it is slower the difference isn't noticable
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jun 8, 2004
Messages
5,216
Best answers
0
I'm getting so confused over fibre and fiber right now...
 
Lost in space
Banned
Joined
Oct 21, 2003
Messages
814
Best answers
0
Ravendust said:
I'm getting so confused over fibre and fiber right now...
Same thing. We randomize the spelling to throw off noobs. :D
 
Lost in space
Banned
Joined
Oct 21, 2003
Messages
814
Best answers
0
Mad_AxMan said:
indeed we do =P
Hey you're a noob too...

BTW, Light Scream wants to give you a lecture on fiber, message him on IRC lol
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top