I cant make a online server :(

ZaZ

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
46
Best answers
0
I go into create game choose a map type sv_lan 0 then restart, and its still a lan server what do I do wrong???
 
New Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2002
Messages
514
Best answers
0
ZaZ said:
I go into create game choose a map type sv_lan 0 then restart, and its still a lan server what do I do wrong???
Dont restart :rolleyes: It should take a few mins to actually show in the internet games list, so be patient.
 

ZaZ

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
46
Best answers
0
goku_ssj_uk said:
Dont restart :rolleyes: It should take a few mins to actually show in the internet games list, so be patient.
okay I did what you said and waited for about 10 mins and then I restarted but still nothing happens. do I have to set my option in a specific way?
 
New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2003
Messages
507
Best answers
0
put sv_lan 0 in ur listengame.cfg
u can set other options there too...
make sure u forwarded the ports if u have a firewall / router.
 
New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2003
Messages
458
Best answers
0
listengame.cfg (as well as several other CFG games) can be found in the main ESF folder.
located either in C:\sierra\half-life\esf (WON)

or C:\valve\steam\steamapps\accountname\half-life\esf (STEAM)

hope this helps...

also...the CFG files can be edited by opening them in NOTEPAD or another text editor
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jan 27, 2003
Messages
1,427
Best answers
0
lost said:
make sure u forwarded the ports if u have a firewall / router.
Mind expanding on this while were on the topic? I've been having a prob with my firewall and can't get my servers to show up since i've had it.
 

ZaZ

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
46
Best answers
0
I really appreciate all the help and thanks alot now I can make a server :smile:
But I have a final question.
when I maked the server ive asked one of my friends join but he couldn't, he said that the server didn't respond. So how do I make it respond so other people can join?
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jan 27, 2003
Messages
1,427
Best answers
0
kernelpanic said:
By opening the correct port... 27015 being the defualt.
And how would i find out the port, is there anyway? (i'm a newb when it comes to this stuff) and if there is a way, whats the console command (sorry for doing this in your topic ZaZ, i'll start a new one if i must :()
 
New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2004
Messages
6
Best answers
0
ey ZaZ have u a router? When yes then u have the same problem as I. I have a question... What must i write in listenserver.cfg ? :confused:
There stand much things. Example:

//max player speeds
sv_maxspeed 5000

Need "sv_lan 0" a headline? :confused:
 
New Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2004
Messages
363
Best answers
0
I too cant make a servre online and I cant even choose a name for my server
which is a very stupid bug Imo

Im using steam and I've never noticed an area for typing the names of the servers...
and my lan thingy is off as well
and the only name I see for the server after I started it is HALF LIFE
thats a stupid name for an esf server wont you agree? if thats the ESF defaults then its not a wise one I say

how can I make internet games this way?
pplz cant niether see me or join me
 

ZaZ

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
46
Best answers
0
-X-T3rRy- said:
ey ZaZ have u a router? When yes then u have the same problem as I. I have a question... What must i write in listenserver.cfg ? :confused:
There stand much things. Example:

//max player speeds
sv_maxspeed 5000

Need "sv_lan 0" a headline? :confused:
yes I have a router but thats not the problem,
I can make an online server and I can see my server on the server list but people cant join because its not responding
 
Active Member
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 18, 2001
Messages
1,640
Best answers
0
you might have to port forward - depends on the router model how to do it.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top