New Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2002
Messages
129
Best answers
0
Okay, I am new at using 3ds max 4, but I know theres to ways you can model... One, you can start TOTALLY of a blank sheet... the other is that there is some way you can allready start off of a model that has been preformed, in some way... or maybe even download a character thing... any help?

Thanks,
RZA the Rzarector
 
New Member
★ Black Lounger ★
Joined
Dec 15, 2001
Messages
395
Best answers
0
I box model...its the only way I was taught in this book I have. I start out 9 boxes, and then make the boxes into an editable polygonal shape, then I work from there...I cut faces into certain spots....ectt....but I'm having trobles with getting all my fonts in 3DMAX. There are only a small list of fonts..I don't know how to put more in, There is like 50 maybe, and I have over 4000 fonts.
 
New Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2002
Messages
129
Best answers
0
Cool... well I'm mot that experienced yet... and need to go over the tutorials... I went over a couple of gmax's when I had those... But if you have any hints, clues, ex's, help or anything I would REALLY appriciate it, thanks
 
New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2002
Messages
91
Best answers
0
Ok RZA if you want to work on a model that had already been made then you will need to know how to get that certain file type into 3D Max there are a few ways but it can be tricky depending on what it is.

But you can goto www.3dcafe.com and get some free models that you can download but most of them are High Poly models.

Best bet in learning is to start from scratch. Try going to...... http://www.planetquake.com/q3manga/oldsite/modelling_tut1.htm

Its not exactly made for Half Life but it gives you the best way of doing it with Max. It covers box modelling which is what I use I find it the best and starts to show results quicker if you have a creative mind and are good with thinking steps out logically.

Xstortionist you may want to copy the fonts you want into the Fonts folder in your 3D Max directory, then restart your PC that should work cos Im sure thats what I did to get some extra fonts into my 3D Max.
 
New Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2002
Messages
129
Best answers
0
Thanks a lot guys, this should help out quite a bit, If I just cover 3ds maxes tuts, those tuts, and maybe work off a high poly, that should get me off to a pretty good start
 
New Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2002
Messages
129
Best answers
0
Oh, and you said something about the polys which reminds me. What or is there even a "standard" poly count for ESF?
 
Defenestrator
Retired Forum Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2002
Messages
907
Best answers
0
approx 1100 poly's for a model in ESF would be maximum.

I could be wrong about that, but i seem to recall that being said quite some time ago, If someone else could concur/correct what i said, id appreciate it

Thx
 
New Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2002
Messages
129
Best answers
0
For being unexperienced, that sounds about right... I really don't know though so don't take that as a "conquration" hehe... but even if you do make a model, and the poly count is too low, or maybe too high, can't you change something to change that up a little?
 
Defenestrator
Retired Forum Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2002
Messages
907
Best answers
0
yes

Polycounts CAN be reduced using various methods, but im a little out of touch with whats the best plugin to use nowdays, im sure Xstortionist will be able to help you next time he comes across this thread, if you dont get an answer in here tho, try sending a PM to ppl on the forums who are known modelllers, im sure most will be happy to help you out

Good Luck
 
New Member
★ Black Lounger ★
Joined
Dec 15, 2001
Messages
395
Best answers
0
Well, I'm not too familiar with any polygon reduction plugins, but the way I do it, is I just weld certain vertexes together that I think don't need to be there. Like my cell model was about 2000 polygons when I was done, then when I did some polygon reduction it went down to about 1100. Which is damn good. I try to give the model alot of detail, then reduce to a good amount of detail that can make the skin look better.
 
New Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2002
Messages
129
Best answers
0
Cool, well, I've been experimenting a little, and came up with a not so great torso... maybe hints, clues, etc... what would be really great if there was one allready made, or something, even a full body that I could "play" with hehe



Front
<BR>
<IMG SRC="http://www.geocities.com/chewygumm/torsofront.jpg">
<p>

Side
<BR>
<IMG SRC="http://www.geocities.com/chewygumm/sidetorso.jpg">
<p>

Back
<BR>
<IMG SRC="http://www.geocities.com/chewygumm/backtorso.jpg">
 
New Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2002
Messages
129
Best answers
0
<A HREF="http://www.geocities.com/chewygumm/torsofront.jpg">Front</A>
<A HREF="http://www.geocities.com/chewygumm/backtorso.jpg">Back</A>
<A HREF="http://www.geocities.com/chewygumm/sidetorso.jpg">Side</A>


Maybe this will work
 
New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2002
Messages
16
Best answers
0
they do work but you gotta copy and paste the links into a new window.

anyway, looking good so far, maybe a little thin from the side view.
 
New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2002
Messages
91
Best answers
0
Im sorry but I would NEVER EVER recommend a Plugin to reduce the poly count on any model I would EVER make. They just aren't made to do that sort of thing. They only work on a plane and such and not curves, bends etc...... Try cutting up a flat suface heaps and then use the plugin to see what happens cos that is what they are made for nothing else.

Also I wouldnt recommend making the arms attached to the body when modelling for Half Life because it only causes problems later on when you have to animate the body which will end up looking like a deformed peice of **** lol, sorry it sounds harsh but very few amiture modellers can pull that sort of thing off, hell I can barely even pull it off. Plus it usally uses to many polys to make the arms connected and animate well.
 
New Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2002
Messages
129
Best answers
0
Well, I just extruded the arms off the body, and started doing some recent changes to it... the hands are giving me quite the problem, im sure theres an easier way to do this... and i'm just making things messier then they have to be...
 
New Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2002
Messages
129
Best answers
0
actually they can't be fixed from what i heard, but what does work, is copy the link and put it in the bar yourself, that works, lol... It's the first thing I've ever done on there... I haven't gone through any tutorials on it yet... but I bet it would be pretty helpfull
 
New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2002
Messages
91
Best answers
0
I would have to agree that hands would be one of the tricker things to make when you first start modelling. I'd recommend starting with just a box then extruding the front twice to make the fingers then the side once and make it small at the end and then extrude it again......that'll work if it made any sense.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top