HD Laptop TV tuner that can handle nextgen consoles?

Pwns Mastasurf at TF2
Retired Forum Staff
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 7, 2001
Messages
5,115
Best answers
0
Ok, looks like I'm doing all my tech type stuff at once ;P I'll keep googling my soul away and maybe I'll find something too. Long story short, my laptop monitor is HD capable but I don't have a TV tuner. Looking for something that's an HD tuner and can take input from a PS3/360/etc. Just turning the forum loose on my issue in hopes one of you guys knows something in this regard.
 
brainfeeder
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 29, 2002
Messages
5,179
Best answers
0
RABBIT EARS! (till Feb 09)
 
Pwns Mastasurf at TF2
Retired Forum Staff
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 7, 2001
Messages
5,115
Best answers
0
I mean one that's capable of handling the data, nub ;P

*edit*

Oh, and it needs to be PCMIA or whatever, that slot on the side of the lappy/USB.
 
New Member
Retired Forum Staff
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Apr 7, 2003
Messages
1,478
Best answers
0
Depends on what you mean by "handle." I haven't seen any TV-tuners capable of HD that offer pcmia, firewire or USB slots. =\
 
Pwns Mastasurf at TF2
Retired Forum Staff
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 7, 2001
Messages
5,115
Best answers
0
doh, you'd think with HD TV having been around for a few years they'd have had this done years ago.
 
~Gurbir~
🌈 Beta Tester
★ Black Lounger ★
✔️ HL Verified
Joined
Jan 24, 2003
Messages
389
Best answers
0
doing a quick search, I found this at a local computer shop



http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=666617625&vpn=230100090&manufacture=Pinnacle *no pic at the site*


http://www.everythingusb.com/pinnacle_pctv_hd_pro_stick.html

*Note* "For gamers, even though encoding is done on the CPU, there is a small but significant half-second delay, so don't expect to be playing Xbox on the PCTV HD Pro Stick, it's better suited for recording gaming sessions after the video is split off to an actual television and the S-Video port of the tuner"

I think that most similar products will have 1-2 sec delay though.

Ill keep an eye out for anything I may come across.
 
New Member
Joined
May 14, 2003
Messages
904
Best answers
0
You're not going to find anything that makes playing games fun. It'll all have input lag.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top