Hand to Hand Combat

Best answers
Okay,

This is a message to Harsens, any of the ESF developers, or anyone in the forums that can answer my question.

The Half-Life engine SDK is very flexible, but I dont see how you can develop such a hand-to-hand combat system that people have been waiting for in the forums! I was wondering, will the melee combat system be everything everyone says it will be, or will be almost only pure beam combat like in the alpha?

either way, the ESF beta is going to rule, good job guys!

Thanks,

--Frog102

p.s. im a programmer, and my opinions are based on what ive done with the half-life code. So my opinions are informed, so dont flame me saying otherwise.

Best answers
From what i've herd melee and beams are like 50 50 you depend on both. Its not just melee and its not just beams.

Best answers
From what I know the melee system we're getting in the beta is a BASIC melee. In later versions we'll get the advanced...atleast thats what I was told o_o

Hsu

💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
Most of you guys will love melee. It actualy takes skill to use, not just point and click like most of the beams. It also takes time to learn it as well :p

Best answers
I think the melee system should be like Oni. That game's hand-to-hand combat owned.

Best answers
Ill give you an example..
I start off using melee and after i hit the guy to the ground and he's rollin around ill charge up a kame wave or whatever my char has and blast the motha f***** to the next dimension...
so there. basically if you are a beam only person you will get ur A$$ rocked.

💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
oni's melee engine SUCKED ASS

and is NOTHING like dbz

Best answers
im sure it's hard, but im sure its not as hard as you make it out to be.

if you have coded for half life and are any good at it, you should be able to make a similar system

Best answers
Okay, thanks. Not quite as detailed an answer as i would have liked, but beggers cant be choosers.