New Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2003
Messages
4
Best answers
0
First i am very sry that i ask such a noob question but i didn´t know an answer so plz help me.

How can i import esf .mdl files into gmax.
And if i finished making a model how can i export it.

thx for every answer.
 
New Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2003
Messages
742
Best answers
0
You model, like everybody else.

Edit: Exporting:

You need 3DSMax and the .smd exporter plugin, as far as I know. .mdls are not the raw form of models. You need .smds (one referrence type, plus and many sequences types [depending on mod]), a .qc file, the skinmaps, and then you need to compile it all.
 
New Member
★ Black Lounger ★
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Apr 23, 2003
Messages
3,913
Best answers
0
wolf, either your trying to be a smartass or you dont fully comprehend what he is asking, its not as simple as modelling it then throwing it ingame,

unlike milkshape, gmax doesnt come with all it needs to make half life models, you hafta download a few plugings to let you extract it to a format editable by 3dsm or milkshape and compile it in one of those
 
New Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2003
Messages
742
Best answers
0
its not as simple as modelling it then throwing it ingame
I'm well aware of that. I don't have 3DSMax and Milkshape on my comp for nothing... It's not exactly worth boast about, so I didn't buy them for bragging rights.
 
New Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2003
Messages
4
Best answers
0
where can i download these plugins
for example i downloaded a .mdl export/import script ( http://216.29.108.76/ )
but when i tryed to import something i got a error msg telling me that a got function is undefined.

and can you tell me which program you use ?
 
New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2003
Messages
22
Best answers
0
Yusuke said:
where can i download these plugins
for example i downloaded a .mdl export/import script ( http://216.29.108.76/ )
but when i tryed to import something i got a error msg telling me that a got function is undefined.

and can you tell me which program you use ?
I suggest getting Milkshape 3d because thats what I use.And its not uber expensive.
 
Active Member
★ Black Lounger ★
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jul 14, 2002
Messages
6,873
Best answers
0
What......? Gmax is free.......
 
New Member
★ Black Lounger ★
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Apr 23, 2003
Messages
3,913
Best answers
0
yes gmax is free, but i prefer milkshape in every aspect, it has all the tools you need and none you dont, but as fo rthe plugins, i remember awhile back in a stiky somewhere where it had a link to the plugins, but i think when sonic rearranged the help stickys it was lost, but im not 100% sure on that
 
Active Member
★ Black Lounger ★
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jul 14, 2002
Messages
6,873
Best answers
0
Hmmmmmmmmmmm Sorry if this sound's mean but Maybe you look in the stiky's That help's people alot! Because most of them are help
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top