GG skins models too sometimes!

🌠 Staff
Best answers
Posted this on the nnk forums, but yup, learning to skin ><, its a pain in the ass. That and I had to pick a character that was white too =( As far as what im gonna do with this model i have yet to decide. Thanks to Kama for his teachings, much more to learns, hope to see more from me.

Enjoy Casshern!, The GG rendition based on the Casshern Sins anime!

Oh, and btw, the glowy eyes arent made with photoshop =) YAY rendering tricks!

Last edited:
whereswarren (King_Vegeta)
💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
You'll get there, maybe a character with more actual texturing next time would help too :p

Freelance Mappzor
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
Nice Casshern

Well im no expert on skins (nor models) so ill just give you a random crit ^^

I think you gave him to much muscle defenition. And the C sign looks kinda distorted because of that.

Last edited:
💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
Nice Casshern

Technically it's texturing or painting a color map, skinning is a secondary part to rigging where you map vertex weights on the mesh to the rig.

Force Pit Member
Best answers
Technically it's texturing or painting a color map, skinning is a secondary part to rigging where you map vertex weights on the mesh to the rig.
Not 100% on this, but I am pretty sure that form of skinning only refers to 3D Studio Max, which of course not everyone uses. But I have only used Max and Lightwave, so I don't know for surez.

Anyway the skin is alright GG. I don't know the character but from the ref shots posted it looks like the chest emblem is wrong and the black lines on the suit should be thicker around the thigh and shoulder area. Also his eyes look pretty distorted from the front and a little cross-eyed.

💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
Not 100% on this, but I am pretty sure that form of skinning only refers to 3D Studio Max, which of course not everyone uses. But I have only used Max and Lightwave, so I don't know for surez.