Generic Screen Resolution Tip

New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 21, 2004
Messages
2,417
Best answers
0
When playing video games, always play at your desktops resolution, and never higher than your monitor resolution

I keep my desktop at 1024 and i play most games at that rez. That way you can alt tab quickly and easily, incase of pop ups, or im's or music needs.
If you keep your desktop and game resolution the same, it doesnt need to resync and such.

If you play at lets say 1600, and your monitor rez is only like 1024, there is usually a BIG lag if something comes up.

Like when i play wc3 at super high rez... and i get a pop up... its like UBER lag, it takes like a minute to get back in game, and for you wc3 players.... thats long enough to be dropped :O

moral of the day: play video games at your desktop resolution
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Feb 23, 2002
Messages
1,148
Best answers
0
Or..............I can play it at a higher resolution, and make my games look better. Ya, I think i'll do that.
 
New Member
Retired Forum Staff
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Apr 7, 2003
Messages
1,478
Best answers
0
No need to sound condescending, Hash. He is suggesting what I already do.
If you play your games at the same reso. as your desktop, you can alt-tab without resizing.
 
Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 1, 2002
Messages
2,725
Best answers
0
I do this with some games, if I don't already play them minimized. I don't do much in the background while playing games, but I like to be able to, and it helps to save a few seconds each time while the monitor changes resolution. I figured most people knew this, though. o_O
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
1,626
Best answers
0
I just change my desktop resolution.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jun 8, 2004
Messages
5,216
Best answers
0
Yeah...if you can run a game at a certain resolution then why not your desktop anyway?
 
Fumoffu!
Retired Forum Staff
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 21, 2002
Messages
2,888
Best answers
0
I do that with all games, ingame resolution = desktop resolution. Alt-tabbing for the win!
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 3, 2002
Messages
2,490
Best answers
0
It depends on the game for me. Alt-tab any source engine game and watch my computer beg to have the feeding tube removed...but the blizzard games all minimize without a hitch no matter the res difference.
 
Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Sep 20, 2003
Messages
3,211
Best answers
0
Or you can go and get pop up blockers that way you don't get pop ups. Or just keep your monitor resolution as high as you want it to be ingame...
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top