GeForce 2

Lost in space
Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2001
Messages
720
Best answers
0
Alright, As I said before I suck when it comes to computers... Anyways I just got Quake 3 and need a new graphics card. Would Geforce 2 be more then enough?
 
Death from Above
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 25, 2001
Messages
4,943
Best answers
0
yep geforce 2 would be plenty
/me is still waiting till christmas for his
 
New Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2001
Messages
77
Best answers
0
i got the readeon 64 meg ddr card..wolrds better than my old tnt 2
 
Death from Above
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 25, 2001
Messages
4,943
Best answers
0
hehe i have a tnt 1 atm
 
Active Member
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 18, 2001
Messages
1,640
Best answers
0
/me kisses his geforce3............... :)
 
Lost in space
Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2001
Messages
720
Best answers
0
:shocked: 3!?!?! :shocked: I've been looking for that everywhere. Lucky son of a ... lol j/k
 
Lost in space
Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2001
Messages
720
Best answers
0
Everyone has better then me !!! What is this ??? lol
 
Live free or die by the sword
Retired Forum Staff
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Messages
7,416
Best answers
0
My card can't seriously be worse than yours! I'm still on PCI! Cripes!
 
Retired
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Messages
0
Best answers
0
the GF3 is at 187% when the GF2 GTS 32MB DDR is 100%. so it's not that much better. and the Radeon 8500 is 64MB DDR, and it's better and cheaper than the GF3.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 26, 2001
Messages
1,428
Best answers
0
The Radeon 8500 is only better at some aplicatiosn the pure raw speed of a Geforce 3 usually just beats the Radeon 8500 But when Doom3 comes out the Radeon will whoop the Geforce3 Because the radeon will have to do only one clock sysle while the Geforce3 will have to do two clock cycles to render the Textures so the Radeon 8500's time of glory is not yet appon us, But will be soon, they also have worse drivers than the Geforce 3 But are getting better all the time.

FYI: The Radeon 8500 Scores Better on the Madonion 3DMark 2001

BrunO
 
Retired
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Messages
0
Best answers
0
yep true.... you have to make a choice with these too, or you wanna have a cheaper card that is on general a better card. or you take the GF3 that is a little more expensive, BUT! Nvidia always have new detonator drivers that increases the speed of the card drastically. it's a hard choice, but i think i would go for the radeon. (cause i don't have all the money in the world) if i had more money i guess i would be GF3. *phew i'm glad i don't have to make a choice like that* :p
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 26, 2001
Messages
1,428
Best answers
0
Ya me to Judge i would choose the Radeon 8500 cus it has a more productive future I think plus it has all the features that DX8.1 have and the newest OpenGl(forget wat version) plus Its CHEAPER (always a PLUS!!)

BrunO
 
Lost in space
Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2001
Messages
720
Best answers
0
ATI
A]XPERT 98 8MB AGP
B]XPERT 2000 32M PRO
C]All-In-Wonder 128PRO 32M
D]All-In-Wonder Radeon 32M
E]Radeon 7500 64MB DDR TVO
F]Radeon 8500 64MB DDR TVO

PINE/POWER COLOR
G]TNT2 M64 32M/TVOUT
H]GEF 2MX 32M/TVOUT
I]GEFORCE2 64 MB PCI

ASUS
J]V7100 64M Pure/TVOUT
K]V7700 32M Pure/Deluxe
L]V7700 64M Pure/Deluxe
M]V7700 64 Pro/Ultra

Ok Well I got this from the catalog and I need these questions to be answered:

A) Which is the best overall?
B) Which is the best ATI
C) Which is the best PINE/POWER COLOR
D) Which is the best ASUS ?

Those are the questions please answer them and be serious! lol thanks :)

By the way... Answer them today before 6:00 because U'm leaving at 6.


OH YEAH! The card is needed for games like Quake 3, Half-Life, Soldier Of Fortune, Unreal Tournament, Serious Sam etc.

AND (Last thing) I'm on a Pentium II. AMD K-6 with an IBM Aptiva harddrive... Hope that helps I don't know alot about my comp so this may be wrong info.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 26, 2001
Messages
1,428
Best answers
0
OK in answer to your questions:-

Best ATi:
Radeon 8500 64MB DDR TVO (TVO Means TV Out)

Best PINE/POWER COLOR:
GEF 2MX 32M/TVOUT
GEFORCE2 64 MB PCI(more ram slower BUS)

Best ASUS:
V7700 64 Pro/Ultra (This Is based on the Geforce 3 chipset)

Best Overall [My Opinion]:
Radeon 8500 64MB DDR TVO

PROBLEM FOR YOU:-
You are running an extremly dated CPU (and by what you stated 2 CPUS Which i NOW IS Wrong You cant be running a Pentium II and a K-6 Unless You are On about Two Separte Computers!)

SOLUTION:-
Upgrade You CPU,MOTHERBOARD & RAM
Recommend By Me:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 1900+ (runs at 1600MHz/1.6GHz)
Mainboard: ASUS A7V266-E
RAM: Crucial 2100 DDR

This Will Give You One Of The Fastest Systems About Will Not Be Needing Upgrading For abou 2-3 Years (when 64BIT CPUS Debut)

Hope This Helps

BrunO
 
Retired
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Messages
0
Best answers
0
F (it's 64Mb ram DDR, and newer than the 7500)
I(if you want to connect your TV too one, then choose H
M

the best overall is: F
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 26, 2001
Messages
1,428
Best answers
0
Judge i would dissagree with your choice of 'I' it runs on the PCI bus and therfore ios auotomatically slower! Also the Gefroce 2MX chipset can not use all that extra ram so it is watsed! Also the 7500 is just a Higer Clocked Radeon (original)

BrunO
 
Retired
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Messages
0
Best answers
0
yeah i thought about my choice with the PCI too, it is slower and it doesn't support DVD cause only AGP does that. so i agree with Bruno now. and the 7500 radeon can have a higher clockspeed(i don't know), but the 8500 has newer techniques that makes good for the clockspeed
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top