CONNECTION ERROR ON STEAM????????????????????????????????????????????? ???????????????

New Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2006
Messages
382
Best answers
0
I just tried going onto steam but it won't connect it comes up with a window saying:

COULD NOT CONNECT TO THE STEAM NETWORK

it appears that you are not currently connected to the internet, or that your INternet connection is not configured correctly for steam.

Either check your connection and click 'retry' or start steam in offline mode.

But i don't think the problem lies with my internet connection because if so? how am i posting here right now? :\ if this helps i recently downloaded HAMACHI yesterday to play with a friend and if that's my problem please help.. lol. thanks.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
2,309
Best answers
0
try restarting steam

also, chances are it's hamachi, it kind of creates a second internet and maybe steam detected that.
 
New Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2006
Messages
382
Best answers
0
it's created some sort of lan connection and keeps on saying it's un plugged but i started up hamachi and it still comes up with the same thing
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
2,309
Best answers
0
try getting rid of hamachi

maybe that'll work.

you can always reinstall.
 
New Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2006
Messages
382
Best answers
0
ah an error, when i tried to un install it it came up with another window :\ Uninstall encountered an problem that prevents it from completing the removal of hamachi. the application will now exit. Omg lol... Now when i try to run esf or steam it comes up with the following window: Steam updating - 0% complete, Updating steam platform, how long will this take to update? and now it says Unable to connect to steam network please try later? what does this mean?
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
2,309
Best answers
0
for some reason it isn't detecting your internet.

maybe hamachi did screw it up :(
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
2,309
Best answers
0
Take a hammer and severly beat your computer! I'm sure it will detect it!

Try asking on their forums. Or you can try uninstalling hamachi again.
 
New Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2006
Messages
382
Best answers
0
oh my god it won't un install i CAN NEVER PLAY ESF AGAIN! :( i don't think there is any way to fix this is there? :(
 
New Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2006
Messages
3
Best answers
0
I use Hamachi frequently and have had no problems with Steam. Perhaps something else is causing your problem.
 
Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 21, 2003
Messages
3,608
Best answers
0
Try deleting clientregistry.blob in your steam folder. After that launch steam and it should update itself. If that doesn't work then reinstall steam or steam, hl and mods.
 
Member
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
Discord Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2005
Messages
434
Best answers
0
My dad's steam (he plays CS) used to do exactly that. Check If your firewall is blocking access to the internet. Otherwise |Overlord|'s post should work aswell.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jul 20, 2005
Messages
1,030
Best answers
0
KILL AND ANNIHILATE EVERYTHING INCLUDING HAMACHI AND STEAM! Then reinstall Steam. Then install Half Life. Then install ESF. Then it will work.
 
New Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2006
Messages
79
Best answers
0
I agree with Raeku:
I am having similar problems currently with my Zone Alarm.

In order to stay connected, or even connect, I am having to reduce all security to zill. It sucks. But it is working as a quick fix, but obviously there are configuration settings that I am still working out, I think the same ~might~ apply to you.
 
New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
23
Best answers
0
Hamachi creates a virtual LAN (Over the internet. Isn't that ironic?), but shouldn't conflict with Steam in any way, shape, or form.
 
New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2006
Messages
430
Best answers
0
Change your internet connection. I had the same problem , it worked after i changed to another ISP . Some ISPs don't work with steam.
 
Lost in space
Banned
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Dec 21, 2003
Messages
3,608
Best answers
0
Punishing said:
Change your internet connection. I had the same problem , it worked after i changed to another ISP . Some ISPs don't work with steam.
Total bs lol.
=->Goku<-= said:
I agree with Raeku:
I am having similar problems currently with my Zone Alarm.

In order to stay connected, or even connect, I am having to reduce all security to zill. It sucks. But it is working as a quick fix, but obviously there are configuration settings that I am still working out, I think the same ~might~ apply to you.
You just have to give steam/hl access permissions on Zonealaram.
 
New Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2006
Messages
79
Best answers
0
thx |Overlord|, I'll check to see if i forgot that, i have a working solution, with many searches pointing to the fact that my dial-up uses a "heartbeat" ping to see if i am still connected, and that might be part of my problem.

I'll let you know if your suggestion works, again thanks.
 
New Member
Joined
May 7, 2006
Messages
444
Best answers
0
Ive had this before and what i did was got rid of my like spyware and anti virus stuff adn got this thing called etrust adn it lets things in and out of your computer. so whatever.
 
Base belongs to me.
👑 Administrator
🌠 Staff
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
💎Légéñdārý
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
Messages
10,841
Best answers
0
Total bs lol.
Actually, some ISP's don't like steam at all. Go check the Steam forums, you see previous ISP problems there with Steam.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top