comp just freezes up randomly

ESF Head Team Mapper
👑 Administrator
🌠 Staff
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
Joined
Dec 25, 2001
Messages
3,612
Best answers
0
long story short, I put together a "new" comp with old components.
The board + cpu comes from a friend and was working perfectly fine.
The ram, hdd and graphics card comes from an old computer of mine which was running (no problems there) until I put together the "new" one ..

I installed win2000 on it with sp4, all stupid windows updates installed but it just keeps freezing randomly :s
I tried to switch the ram, no results
I switched the gfx card, no results
I even switched the power supply, no results :s

Any ideas what might be wrong?
 
New Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2004
Messages
652
Best answers
0
Is there anyway at all possible that you could swap each and every part out? I know that sounds tedious, but it is one way i know of to find the problem.
 
Death from Above
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 25, 2001
Messages
4,942
Best answers
0
HDD got owned?
 
ESF Head Team Mapper
👑 Administrator
🌠 Staff
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
Joined
Dec 25, 2001
Messages
3,612
Best answers
0
I basically swapped each part individually, the only thing I cant swap is a board and cpu :s
Next I'll try a different hdd and install xp or something to see if it works.
 
Active Member
✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
3,055
Best answers
0
Your problem is Win2000. Welcome to WinXP.
 
ESF Head Team Mapper
👑 Administrator
🌠 Staff
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
Joined
Dec 25, 2001
Messages
3,612
Best answers
0
well, I never had any problems with win2000 before (at least not problems like that) ... and since its a pretty old computer I figured 2k would run better on it -_- (1.2ghz athlon or something like that)
 
Base belongs to me.
👑 Administrator
🌠 Staff
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
💎Légéñdārý
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
Messages
10,820
Best answers
0
I do have to agree, what the hell are you doing with Win2k? o_O
 
New Member
✔️ HL Verified
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
221
Best answers
0
Windows XP works on my dad's ancient Pentium 3 850 MHz, and it works just fine. Install XP, it works on anything, and it's the best (imo) operating system to date.
 
~Gurbir~
🌈 Beta Tester
★ Black Lounger ★
✔️ HL Verified
Joined
Jan 24, 2003
Messages
389
Best answers
0
Eventhough win2k is outdated I highly doubt thats the problem.

where does it freeze in Windows or before that?

Try resetting Bios to default.

Did it run ok before installing sp4 and the upadates?

Try re-installing windows without sp4 and updates and see if it works, if its ok go for the updates etc.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top