Changing your Security TCP connect Limits

Mr. Preacher
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 7, 2002
Messages
1,344
Best answers
0
Some of you might already know this some might not but I thought I would let you guys know about it. Basically theres a security limit on your TCP/IP connects which can lead to slower download and upload speeds via torrents, p2p and what not. The reason why they put this security limit on was to slow down worms but you know what its not going to stop a worm right so just need to be smart about how high you change it to I say.

Anyways all the info can be found here along with a patcher to do such. I advise you all do to do this at your own risk because I don't know what exactly can happen but from what I've seen my speeds increased a good amount so far and nothing bad has happened yet.

Also when you run the patcher two windows will pop up, one telling you to insert your windows disc which you will just hit cancel and another about restoring your systems old files just hit yes on this box and then all should be good.



Link:
http://www.lvllord.de/?url=tools&lang=en
 
New Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2004
Messages
652
Best answers
0
Would this help at all with Dialup. Sorry if its a dumb question... idk much about this type of stuff.
 

sub

Active Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jun 18, 2003
Messages
5,960
Best answers
0
I'm willing to try this out if anyone knows a way to change it back should I need / want to.
 
New Member
Joined
May 14, 2003
Messages
904
Best answers
0
It's creates a backup of the file it modifies. Easily replaced.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
1,285
Best answers
0
yeah, that thing increased my speed dramatically, though i already have a fast net. Thanks for the tip!
 

sub

Active Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Jun 18, 2003
Messages
5,960
Best answers
0
Mine started out at 50 and asked me to decrease it to 10. Wasn't it suppose to start out at 10 and increase to 50?
 
Mr. Preacher
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
May 7, 2002
Messages
1,344
Best answers
0
Yes so try increasing it to 70 or 100 I would first try 100 and if you don't notice anything drop it down to 70. Also are you running Windows XP SP2?
 
New Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2006
Messages
980
Best answers
0
Grrrr, I can't upgrade to SP2 :), somethin about my Windows Xp not being..
Genuin Some **** like that x)

-GuZzie
 
Member
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
Discord Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2003
Messages
345
Best answers
0
Also changing your MTU settings can benefit greatly.
Using this tool helps: http://www.speedguide.net/downloads.php
You can check connection speed, Ping, Latency (They are not the same).
And the Faq is located here: http://www.speedguide.net/faq_in.php?category=100
And for Firefox users put this in the address bar: About:Config
And read this: http://www.tweakguides.com/Firefox_1.html

There are plenty of ways of optimizing internet connections.
But unfortunately Theres no way of "Turbo charging" dial-up connections.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top