Cel Recreation

Best answers
I thought I'd try something that I've never thought about before, recreating a cel of a DBZ character. I was inspired by flash movies at newgrounds, it's my first attempt and I'd just like to know what you guys think;

Ref Picture:

I missed some shading here and there but I'm not really concerned about that at the minute seeing as it was my first. I'm making a new one as we speak which I'll do in much greater detail.

Best answers
Is it just me or is that ref pic ****ed up? o_O oh well it looks coo

💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
Its nice, but I dont see the point of it. Re creating a ref picture is good practise though I guess.[/contradiction]

ahem oh well ^^:

Hsu

💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
It would have been better if you used curved lines instead of a bunch of straight lines trying to make the illusion of a curve.

💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
not too bad but as ryoko said it really serves no purpose ..

Best answers
There was no point, just something new to try playin with.

Hsu: Yeah I know mate... I know >_<

✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
just make a slight blur on the straight lines then post the pic again..

💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
lol
your pic is in a better quality then the ref, nice work

Retired
Best answers
yeah I think that's a very good job. and indeed the jpg compression in the ref pic ruins the pic a bit. your pic is better in quality ;)

💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
And on the chin... But other than that it's great... Yeah

Best answers
So...... you traced the original with the pen tool? How is that referencing? To reference is to create a largely new work with the original as a reference. Not to duplicate the original. Like using a character reference, a perspective reference, a pose reference, a color reference, etc. The suggestion is that there is some kind of freehand work involved.

✔️ HL Verified
💻 Oldtimer
Best answers