Avatar - Upload of File Failed

New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
20
Best answers
0
Sorry if this is the wrong section, i didn't want to put this under help because that is ESF related. Whenever i try to upload my avatar it says Upload Failed. It is 28.4 KB and 100x100 Pixels, and i tried it in JPG and GIF form. Whats going on?
 
Freelance Mappzor
๐Ÿ’ป Oldtimer
โœ”๏ธ HL Verified
๐Ÿš‚ Steam Linked
Discord Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
17,065
Best answers
0
Try making it 90x90 ^^

Maybe thats it ^^
 
The Duke of Juke
๐Ÿ’ป Oldtimer
Retired Forum Staff
โœ”๏ธ HL Verified
Joined
Dec 24, 2002
Messages
2,852
Best answers
0
I just tried it and it didn't work for me, even with using the same exact avatar I used to use.

Paging Skyrider!
 
New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
20
Best answers
0
Thanks for replying guys, i will try making it 90X90. Also, as I get more into the community, will the max KB count change? I spent hours making an animated avatar (80KBs when 100X100) but its over the max count :(, thanks again for replying :)
 
Base belongs to me.
๐Ÿ‘‘ Administrator
๐ŸŒ  Staff
โœ”๏ธ HL Verified
๐Ÿš‚ Steam Linked
Discord Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
Messages
10,817
Best answers
0
Yea, I'm familiar with the issue. For some reason all uploads (including attachments) is failing. I am not sure why or what is causing this, so I'll have to look in deeper to find the real cause.

Thanks for replying guys, i will try making it 90X90. Also, as I get more into the community, will the max KB count change? I spent hours making an animated avatar (80KBs when 100X100) but its over the max count , thanks again for replying
As long the animated avatar is not redicilous big in file size, you should be fine. I'll still have to fix the issue though.
 
New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
20
Best answers
0
Well, I cant leave this post without a thank you to Skyrider :)
 
Freelance Mappzor
๐Ÿ’ป Oldtimer
โœ”๏ธ HL Verified
๐Ÿš‚ Steam Linked
Discord Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
17,065
Best answers
0
Well if worst comes to worst. You can still host the avatar on imageshack or something like that and link from the forums (atleast you could do that in the past ^^)
 
New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
20
Best answers
0
Well it works for my normal avatar :)

Do i get extra avatar space later on though? My animated avatar (h.ttp://img4.imageshack.us/img4/3542/vegetablue.gif) is too large, i tried reducing it to 90x90 (h.ttp://img12.imageshack.us/img12/5508/vegetabluesmall.gif) but "the remote file is too large" still :/ The 100X100 is 80KBs and the 90X90 is 71.8KBs

Thanks for the help though, at least i have an avatar now :)
 
Last edited:
Base belongs to me.
๐Ÿ‘‘ Administrator
๐ŸŒ  Staff
โœ”๏ธ HL Verified
๐Ÿš‚ Steam Linked
Discord Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
Messages
10,817
Best answers
0
Try now, I've changed the max avatar size to 100kb. At least, should be 100 now.
 
New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
20
Best answers
0
It works :D thanks :)
I really didnt expect staff to be changing a setting for me,
but the customer support here is amazing i see :D.
Thanks again!
 
Freelance Mappzor
๐Ÿ’ป Oldtimer
โœ”๏ธ HL Verified
๐Ÿš‚ Steam Linked
Discord Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
17,065
Best answers
0
Skyrider just had some time on his hands. He LOVES to play with the forums XD
 
Active Member
๐Ÿ’ป Oldtimer
โœ”๏ธ HL Verified
Joined
Mar 13, 2005
Messages
3,877
Best answers
0
Haha, I have had the same Avatar since I joined these forums.
 
Base belongs to me.
๐Ÿ‘‘ Administrator
๐ŸŒ  Staff
โœ”๏ธ HL Verified
๐Ÿš‚ Steam Linked
Discord Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
Messages
10,817
Best answers
0
Skyrider just had some time on his hands. He LOVES to play with the forums XD
Actually, changing max avatar file sizes is quite easy to do. And with my "love", we also got some nifty features around here :p.
 
Active Member
๐Ÿ’ป Oldtimer
โœ”๏ธ HL Verified
Joined
Mar 13, 2005
Messages
3,877
Best answers
0
Actually, changing max avatar file sizes is quite easy to do. And with my "love", we also got some nifty features around here :p.
Indeed we do. Now you need to get one of those 24 SSD Samsung Computers that you shown me.

Uploading 2gbs in a second..... jesus.....
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top