AM2 - When to make the switch?

New Member
💻 Oldtimer
✔️ HL Verified
Joined
Apr 4, 2005
Messages
1,714
Best answers
0
I am wondering when I should completely upgrade my system to AM2. I have a 939 right now and it's not a top notch system (1gb ram, 3200 64 bit). The prices are dropping and I don't know if I should do it now, or wait and do it.
 
New Member
Joined
May 20, 2006
Messages
207
Best answers
0
AMD is coming out with a new architecture soon, not sure when, but if your starved for a gaming system, then upgrade now.

It's never a bad time to upgrade, unless you buy the highest end video card for $1000.00 only to have it rendered obselate by a new video card in 1 month.
 
Live free or die by the sword
💻 Oldtimer
Retired Forum Staff
✔️ HL Verified
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Messages
7,416
Best answers
0
You'll want AM3, skip AM2 entirely.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Messages
9,707
Best answers
0
AMD is coming out with a new architecture soon, not sure when, but if your starved for a gaming system, then upgrade now.

It's never a bad time to upgrade, unless you buy the highest end video card for $1000.00 only to have it rendered obselate by a new video card in 1 month.
Completely wrong. Now is an utterly terrible time to upgrade. When the dx10 cards and other things come out the "top of the line" stuff now is going to go down to dirt cheap.

Really if you want to upgrade for gaming its better off to hold off and wait. If you are cheap then things will get a lot cheaper soon and if you want teh powar then things will get way better soon as well.
 
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2005
Messages
475
Best answers
0
Completely wrong.
Can anyone around here not say something completely rude, and just say instead, "I disagree?"

Just slap another gig of memory into your system, and you will notice an improvement in your games. But wait a little bit of time (a couple months perhaps) before you decide how to proceed.

During the summer season I tend to see lower prices.
 
Active Member
💻 Oldtimer
✔️ HL Verified
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
3,055
Best answers
0
Just slap another gig of memory into your system, and you will notice an improvement in your games.
Not always. Sometimes it can be better to just leave it alone. For one thing, we don't know his current specs, so that's not a wise suggestion.

My advice: post your system specs so we can help you plan your upgrade path.
 
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2005
Messages
475
Best answers
0
Not always. Sometimes it can be better to just leave it alone. For one thing, we don't know his current specs, so that's not a wise suggestion.

My advice: post your system specs so we can help you plan your upgrade path.
That is true, and it's true that this solution might not work. I was kinda just giving advice that worked for myself.

I was playing The Matrix Online, went from 512MB to 1GB and noticed a drastic difference. Went from 1GB to 2GB and never had any further issues with performance. That was a couple years ago, and I've upgraded since then, but, back then it was a definite improvement.
 
New Member
✔️ HL Verified
Joined
Jan 7, 2003
Messages
344
Best answers
0
Always get the best you can afford, For instance you could always stick with the 939 Mobo, And pick up a cheap Athlon 64 X2 Dual core processor :)
Then you could keep your DDR ram.
When Socket AM2 was released, it was actually slightly slower, I'm not sure what the performance is like now though.
 
Live free or die by the sword
💻 Oldtimer
Retired Forum Staff
✔️ HL Verified
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Messages
7,416
Best answers
0
Always get the best you can afford, For instance you could always stick with the 939 Mobo, And pick up a cheap Athlon 64 X2 Dual core processor :)
Then you could keep your DDR ram.
When Socket AM2 was released, it was actually slightly slower, I'm not sure what the performance is like now though.
They've pulled ahead slightly, am3 will be much much faster.
 
New Member
💻 Oldtimer
✔️ HL Verified
Joined
Apr 4, 2005
Messages
1,714
Best answers
0
Here are my specs:
CPU - AMD 3200+ 64 Bit 2.0ghz
Mobo - ASUS A8R32-MVP Deluxe Crossfire 3200
Video Card - ATI 1900xtx 512mb
Ram - 2x512 mb Corsair pc3200
Sound Card - SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
Power supply - Antec TRUEPOWERII 550w
 
Live free or die by the sword
💻 Oldtimer
Retired Forum Staff
✔️ HL Verified
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Messages
7,416
Best answers
0
That machine is still pretty beefy, I'd wait till AM3 comes out to upgrade. If you absolutely need to upgrade, you can hit up another gb of ram. To do that however, I would suggest getting to 1GB paired sticks with low latency.
 
New Member
Joined
May 14, 2003
Messages
904
Best answers
0
Yea, you have no reason to upgrade with that system.
 
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2005
Messages
475
Best answers
0
Isn't that what I said? ;)

No :p Unless you're talking to Cuc, then yea. This is a lot edit, do do do, editing more... humh... ~Smiff

So yeah, up the RAM and you'll be fine. :D
 
G-Bear
✔️ HL Verified
Joined
Nov 28, 2002
Messages
762
Best answers
0
Here are my specs:
CPU - AMD 3200+ 64 Bit 2.0ghz
Mobo - ASUS A8R32-MVP Deluxe Crossfire 3200
Video Card - ATI 1900xtx 512mb
Ram - 2x512 mb Corsair pc3200
Sound Card - SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
Power supply - Antec TRUEPOWERII 550w
The only thing you could do is buy a second hand 939 CPU which is faster, but dont spend too much on it.

Everything in this system will be useless when AM3(Or if your planning to take a Core Duo) comes out. The only parts that you can prolly use in your future system, will be the PSU, VGA and sound card.
 
New Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2004
Messages
652
Best answers
0
Wouldnt you want Intel for a gaming PC? They are owning the **** out of AMD as far as i know.
 
New Member
✔️ HL Verified
Joined
Jan 7, 2003
Messages
344
Best answers
0
They've pulled ahead slightly, am3 will be much much faster.
It may be much faster, It maybe much slower, Not something thats un-heard of, But because the new platform has been released there is no hard evidence of this.

The Athlon 64 3200+ still has some kicking left in its hide, But it is indeed your CPU and lack memory thats holding your system back, Make the jump to Dual Core, Should give you some more vital years in gaming :)

Heres some cheapy Chipys' I could recommend:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103596
Dual Core Opty Goodness :) 2.2ghz 1Mb of L2 Cache.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103037
Athlon 64 4000+

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103627
Athlon 64 4600+ X2

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103559
Athlon FX-57 Unlocked multiplier = Uber overclocks.

Wouldn't you want Intel for a gaming PC? They are owning the **** out of AMD as far as i know.
It depends, If you already have the mobo, DDR ram etc, Your system is already doing what you want but just require a little bit more grunt, then it makes sense to stick to the platform and shell out a little bit of money? Anyhow I think AMD is currently owning Intel in the low end Athlon 64 Market right about now.
 
Live free or die by the sword
💻 Oldtimer
Retired Forum Staff
✔️ HL Verified
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Messages
7,416
Best answers
0
It may be much faster, It maybe much slower, Not something thats un-heard of, But because the new platform has been released there is no hard evidence of this.
While this is true, the goal is to get the AMD cores to use DDR3 Ram, which has lower latency than DDR2 (or so we are told). This is the basic problem with AMD and DDR2, and caused the first AM2 systems to suffer in comparison to their 939 counterparts. Newer systems with DDR2 800 worked much better.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top