Contribution Entry. (Map)

Best answers
Hello, my name is Baldwin. I started learning how to map in 2009, ever since I loved it then. I first started at the zeq2lite community, where I was trained to become where I am today.

I would love to contribute to this project! I spoke with a dev here, he told me paste my test here for the other devs and everyone in the community to see. Maybe I'm not getting the ESF style right, this is what I'm here for, to learn an grow as a developer! :) All help is appreciated!

I would like to know what you guys think so far?

I just did a series of islands, nothing large. Was thinking of adding a city later on..

The map is currently 14.7k. I'll show you both renders and wireframe.

Also, I doubt this is how it would look ingame, I'm not familiar with the mapping tools, adding weather effects, sun, shadows, waters etccc...

Thanks for everyone's input in advance.

Had a hard time uploading these, internet is freaking out alot lately.

NOT IN THE MANGA™
★ Black Lounger ★
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
Seems fine for what you're trying to do (a bunch of small isles), but I'd rather you show us something of a more complex geometry.

Freelance Mappzor
✔️ HL Verified
🚂 Steam Linked
💻 Oldtimer
Best answers
Water is set from within the XML configuration. All you really need is a box with the correct material name for it. Shadows are dynamic so you dont need to worry about those at all, the sun is also set up in the XMLs.

As for the map. Its a bit plain but looks like it might be fun if you add more height variations to it. Like a bigger island with a moutain and so on.
The BG is kinda empty to, so you might want to add something like a far away coastline. The player area is sealed off by an inverted box with a sppeciffic texture inside, so if you can imagine that you can get away with flat planes and alpha textures to simulate far away terrain.

Best answers